Chicken on Vacation (I Can Read! Level 1: Beginning Reading)

by Adam Lehrhaupt (Author) Shahar Kober (Illustrator)

Chicken on Vacation (I Can Read! Level 1: Beginning Reading)
Zoey the chicken needs a vacation! Zoey knows you don't need to go to the shore to have the perfect beach day...but you do need a great imagination and a treasure map! Will Zoey lead her barnyard pals to buried treasure? Chicken on Vacation is a Level One I Can Read, which means it's perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences. From the author-illustrator duo that brought you the hilarious Chicken in Space, Chicken in School, and Chicken in Mittens, a Level One I Can Read that School Library Journal calls "a fun book that is perfect for budding readers."

Find books about:

More books in the series - See All

School Library Journal

PreS-Gr 1--Zoey the chicken is back in another diminutive tale for new readers. Zoey invites her friends, Sam the pig and Pip the mouse, on a beach vacation. As they march to their destination, Zoey encourages them to look at the ocean view and sandy beach, but all Pip sees is a pond and some dirt. No matter, soon Sam is happily swimming in the mud and even Pip is content splashing in the pond. The outing wouldn't be complete without a splendid adventure, and when Pip finds a piece of paper, Zoey declares it to be a treasure map. The hunt is on and the three friends proceed to encounter ordinary objects that Zoey's keen imagination turns into something grand. A tractor is now a lookout tower and an old fence is transformed into a shipwreck. Luckily for all involved, the buried treasure turns out to be a picnic pie for all to enjoy. Zoey's enthusiasm and imagination are infectious and young readers will relate to the action in the book. Short sentences and colorful illustrations by Kober will aid in comprehension. VERDICT A solid addition for emerging readers, especially for fans of Chicken in Mittens.--Amy Nolan, St. Joseph Public Library, MI

Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.
Adam Lehrhaupt
Adam Lehrhaupt's first picture book, Warning: Do Not Open This Book!, received the E.B. White Read Aloud Honor Award, was an ALA Notable Book, and a HuffPost Notable Book. School Library Journal called it, "More fun than a barrel of monkeys." He is also the author of Please, Open This Book!, which was named a Wanda Gag Comstock Read Aloud Honor Book, and Idea Jar. Adam has traveled to six continents, performed on Broadway, and lived on a communal farm. He currently lives in the suburbs of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, with his wife, sons, and two bizarre dogs. Visit him online at AdamLehrhaupt.com.

Matthew Forsythe is the author-illustrator of Pokko and the Drum, a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year, a recipient of the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honor, and a Charlotte Zolotow Honor Book. He is also an illustrator for animated films and television. His credits include Adventure Time, The Midnight Gospel, and Robin Robin, a stop-motion animated musical from Aardman Animations and Netflix. Visit him at ComingUpforAir.net.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780062364197
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publication date
June 20, 2018
Series
I Can Read! Level 1: Beginning Reading
BISAC categories
JUV019000 - Juvenile Fiction | Humorous Stories
JUV002090 - Juvenile Fiction | Animals | Farm Animals
JUV043000 - Juvenile Fiction | Readers | Beginner
Library of Congress categories
Imagination
Chickens
Beaches
Domestic animals
Buried treasure
Readers (Publications)

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!