Makeda Makes a Birthday Treat (I Can Read! Level 2: Reading With Help)

by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich (Author) Lydia Mba (Illustrator)

The first title in a delightful new Level 2: I Can Read! series from acclaimed author Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich and illustrator Lydia Mba, starring Makeda, an exuberant 7-year-old "maker" and problem solver who loves to create. Perfect for readers who love Rosie Revere, Engineer, and Reina Ramos Works It Out.

It's Makeda's birthday! To celebrate, she is excited to make her marvelous coconut drops to share with the class. But everyone else brings cupcakes for their birthdays. Will her classmates like her special treat?

Makeda Makes a Birthday Treat is a Level 2: I Can Read! book, geared for kids who read on their own but still need a little help. Whether shared at home or in a classroom, the engaging stories, longer sentences, and language play of Level Two books are proven to help kids take their next steps toward reading success.

Select format:
Paperback
$5.99

More books in the series - See All

School Library Journal

Gr 1-4--For her birthday celebration, Makeda is thrilled to make coconut drops for her classmates. Her siblings tell her kids will want cupcakes. But Makeda is determined to make coconut drops. Makeda, Momma, and Nana sing, dance, sip tea, and tell stories while they make their beloved coconut drops. Readers feel the nostalgia that Makeda and her family experience for their island homeland. When Makeda arrives at school, some kids ask where the cupcakes are. Others make faces, comments, and ask about potential mistakes. The coconut drops don't look like cupcakes. When Makeda's best friend, Glory, steps up and tries one, soon others follow. The class then launches into conversation about the foods, stories, and traditions they enjoy with their families. This early reader aptly illustrates what can occur when children are brave enough to share their family's culture and background. Illustrations and text work in tandem to show what students can do to foster awareness of individuals other than themselves, and how to talk about differences. Makeda and her family have brown skin, and her class includes children with a range of skin tones, body types, and abilities. VERDICT An inclusive early reader that celebrates dialogue about individual differences.--Jennifer Strattman

Copyright 2023 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes



Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780063217263
Lexile Measure
-
Guided Reading Level
-
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publication date
September 05, 2023
Series
I Can Read! Level 2: Reading With Help
BISAC categories
JUV051000 - Juvenile Fiction | Imagination & Play
JUV013000 - Juvenile Fiction | Family | General
JUV043000 - Juvenile Fiction | Readers | Beginner
JUV050000 - Juvenile Fiction | Cooking & Food
JUV017100 - Juvenile Fiction | Holidays & Celebrations | Birthdays
JUV074000 - Juvenile Fiction | Diversity & Multicultural
Library of Congress categories
Picture books
Family life
Schools
Birthdays

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!