Click (Click #1)

by Kayla Miller (Author)

Reading Level: 4th – 5th Grade
Series: Click

From The New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Kayla Miller comes a graphic novel about friendship and finding where you "click" in middle school, perfect for fans of Smile and Real Friends.

Olive wants to get in on the act . . .

. . . Any act!

Olive "clicks" with everyone in the fifth grade--until one day she doesn't. When a school variety show leaves Olive stranded without an act to join, she begins to panic, wondering why all her friends have already formed their own groups . . . without her. With the performance drawing closer by the minute, will Olive be able to find her own place in the show before the curtain comes up?

The New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Kayla Miller has woven together a heartfelt and insightful story about navigating friendships, leaning on family, and learning to take the stage in the most important role of all. Looking for more of Olive's adventures? Check out the companion books Camp and Act.


More books in the series - See All

Other series you might like

Publishers Weekly

Olive has lots of friends at school, but when Mr. Florez announces the fifth grade talent show, no one invites her to be part of an act. Feeling abandoned, Olive experiences an existential crisis about her place in the universe, complete with anxiety dreams, advice sessions with her aunt, and tense confrontations with her mother. She's confused about how to address her feelings of alienation without begging to be included, but eventually, she finds inspiration for her role in the show, as well as insight into how she fits in with her friends. Thick lines, pastel colors, and uncluttered panels help make the story easy and enjoyable to follow. In both the text and art, Miller's debut authentically conveys nuanced challenges and everyday moments of childhood, offering a guide for kids navigating friendship, family, and goals. Ages 10-12. (Jan.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, LLC Used with permission.

School Library Journal

Gr 3-6--Outgoing fifth grader Olive has a problem: she's good friends with almost everyone in her class, but she isn't best friends with anyone. She's perfectly happy in her role as floating social butterfly until it comes time for the big variety show, when all her friends form acts without her before she realizes what's going on. Olive sinks slowly into depression as she fails to "click" with any of her cliquey friend groups, until funky, green-haired Aunt Molly invites her over for an aunt-niece sleepover. After spending the night watching old TV variety shows, Olive is inspired by the witty hosts and hostesses who introduce and banter with the acts on their shows, and dreams about taking on that role herself for the variety show. Can she convince her friends and family that this is the right fit for her? Heavy lines and calm pastels create the perfect tone to offset this introspective story of self-discovery. Well-defined, consistent frames and gutters, along with clear-cut visual storytelling and readable lettering, make this an excellent recommendation for fans of the format and newcomers alike. VERDICT Those who enjoy Raina Telgemeier, Victoria Jamieson, and the like will find this a lighter but welcome addition and be happy to hear Olive's adventures will continue.--Darla Salva Cruz, Suffolk Cooperative Library System, Bellport, NY

Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

"This bright and friendly graphic novel is rendered with pleasing, pastel-toned illustrations reminiscent of Raina Telgemeier's art and should appeal to a similar audience."—Kirkus

"Kids who have ever worried about their friendships or popularity will find solidarity in Olive's familiar story. This story of a kid learning how to use her voice will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale's Real Friends (2017)."—Booklist

"Well-defined, consistent frames and gutters, along with clear-cut visual storytelling and readable lettering, make this an excellent recommendation for fans of the format and newcomers alike. Those who enjoy Raina Telgemeier, Victoria Jamieson, and the like will find this a lighter but welcome addition and be happy to hear Olive's adventures will continue."—School Library Journal

"In both the text and art, Miller's debut authentically conveys nuanced challenges and everyday moments of childhood, offering a guide for kids navigating friendship, family, and goals."—Publishers Weekly
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781328707352
Lexile Measure
360L
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Clarion Books
Publication date
January 20, 2019
Series
Click

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!