I Am La Chiva!: The Colorful Bus of the Andes

by Karol Hernández (Author) Lorena Alvarez Gómez (Illustrator)

I Am La Chiva!: The Colorful Bus of the Andes
Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade

For fans of The Little Blue Truck, Red Truck and The Little Engine That Could, a rhyming ode to a colorful South American bus and the collective spirit of its people.

This joyful and rhyming picture book written by a debut author and illustrated by the beloved creator of Nightlights and Hicotea, follows the iconic bus, or chiva, as it navigates the rugged Andes mountains, celebrating the rich culture and landscape of Colombia that was so beautifully showcased in Disney's Encanto.

Select format:
Hardcover
$18.99

School Library Journal

[A] charming debut picture book . . . Each colorful spread is met with four lines of sweet rhymes. Kids will enjoy looking at all the details in the vibrant illustrations . . . A bright and welcoming addition to books about vehicles, with a huge bonus of centering contemporary Colombian culture.

Review quotes



Karol Hernández
Karol Hernández was born and raised in Colombia. She currently lives in Florida with her husband, three kids, two dogs, and a fish. https: //karolitadotcom.wordpress.com/

Lorena Alvarez Gómez is a comic artist and illustrator who loves to work with color and experiment with diverse techniques. She is the author and illustrator of Nightlights and Hicotea and she has also made illustrations for independent publications, advertising and fashion magazines. Lorena works from her home studio in Bogotá, Colombia, surrounded by music and loved ones. She loves to paint, take care of her dog and read comic books. Visit her at http: //www.lorenaalvarez.com/ and on instagram at @artichoke_kid.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780593529201
Lexile Measure
-
Guided Reading Level
-
Publisher
Dial Books
Publication date
July 09, 2024
Series
-
BISAC categories
JUV057000 - Juvenile Fiction | Stories in Verse (see also Poetry)
JUV041000 - Juvenile Fiction | Transportation | General
JUV030040 - Juvenile Fiction | People & Places | Caribbean & Latin America
Library of Congress categories
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!