The House of the Seven Gables (Oxford World's Classics)

by Nathaniel Hawthorne (Author)

Reading Level: 9th − 12th Grade

The sins of one generation are visited upon another in a haunted New England mansion until the arrival of a young woman from the country breathes new air into mouldering lives and rooms. Written shortly after The Scarlet Letter, The House of the Seven Gables re-addresses the theme of human guilt in a style remarkable in both its descriptive virtuosity and its truly modern mix of fantasy and realism.

About the Series: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the broadest spectrum of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, voluminous notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.

Select format:

Find books about:

More books in the series - See All

Lexile Measure
Guided Reading Level
Oxford University Press, USA
Publication date
May 20, 2009
Oxford World's Classics
BISAC categories
FIC019000 - Fiction | Literary
FIC015000 - Fiction | Horror | General
FIC008000 - Fiction | Sagas
FIC027040 - Fiction | Gothic
FIC027000 - Fiction | Romance | General
FIC004000 - Fiction | Classics
Library of Congress categories
Historical fiction
Salem (Mass.)
Occult fiction
Haunted houses
Domestic fiction

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!