Vampiric Vacation (The Sinister Summer #2)

by Kiersten White (Author)

Reading Level: 4th – 5th Grade

The spooky summer adventures of the Sinister-Winterbottom twins continue in another gothic mystery: can Theo and Alexander solve the secret of the Sanguine Spa in the little Transylvania Mountains? 

After leaving Fathoms of Fun, the kids are on their way to the next odd summer destination their aunt has chosen for them. This time, they find themselves dropped off at the Sanguine Spa in the "little Transylvania Mountains." There they meet the owners: Mina, her mysterious little sister, Lucy (who is extremely pale, can't go in the sunlight, and has an affinity for hanging upside down from the ceiling), and their intimidating guardian, the Count. When the Count sends all the children in the spa on a scavenger hunt, the Sinister-Winterbottoms use the excuse to snoop around and discover that this spa may be more than just eerie--it might also hold clues to what happened to their parents. When Wil starts to show vampiric symptoms, the twins resolve to investigate what's really going on at the Sanguine Spa.

The second book in the Sinister Summer series continues the adventures of the Sinister-Winterbottoms and their aunt who never saw a discount vacation destination she didn't love.


More books in the series - See All

Kirkus

Another eerie escapade in a delightfully quirky series. 

Review quotes

Praise for the Sinister Summer series:

"Wickedly weird." —The New York Times

"Like a big waterslide that you scream all the way down, only to laugh in relief and get right back on, this book is gothically hilarious and an absolute delight. If I have to die in a waterpark, I want to die in this one."—Holly Black, #1 NYT-bestselling author of The Folk of the Air series

"If you like stories about mostly perfectly nice children in imperfectly spooky situations, you'll adore Kiersten White's Wretched Waterpark! It's both give-you-the-chills-creepy and laugh-in-a-room-by-yourself-funny. Full of heart and bravery and the most wonderful weirdness." —Lora Senf, author of The Clackity

"A timeless and charming romp of mysterious gothic delight for fans of Neil Gaiman, The Mysterious Benedict Society, and Hotel Transylvania. I want to live in this world!"—Delilah S. Dawson, NYT bestselling author of the Minecraft Mob Squad series and Mine

"Everything I want in a creepy middle grade book: wonderfully odd characters, mystery and humor, a murderous gothic waterpark. Dangerously delightful."—Jacqueline West, NYT-bestselling author of The Books of Elsewhere and Long Lost

Kiersten White
Kiersten White has never been a lifeguard, camp counselor, or spa masseuse, but she is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than twenty books, including Wretched Waterpark, the first book in the Sinister Summer series, and Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales. She lives with her family near the beach and keeps all her secrets safely buried in her backyard, where they are guarded by a ferocious tortoise named Kimberly.

kierstenwhite.com
@kierstenwhite on Twitter
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780593379080
Lexile Measure
730L
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Delacorte Press
Publication date
September 20, 2022
Series
The Sinister Summer
BISAC categories
JUV019000 - Juvenile Fiction | Humorous Stories
JUV028000 - Juvenile Fiction | Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
JUV058000 - Juvenile Fiction | Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural
Library of Congress categories
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!