Whiz Kid #2 (Miles Lewis)

by Kelly Starling Lyons (Author) Wayne Spencer (Illustrator)

Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade
Series: Miles Lewis
From the award-winning author of the Jada Jones chapter books comes an illustrated spinoff series perfect for STEM fans!

Miles Lewis has been waiting forever to be part of a city-wide science competition. Now his dream is finally coming true, and he's even part of an all-star team that includes his good friend, Jada. He should be in his element, so he can't seem to figure out why he feels like the weak link instead. While everyone else is rocking the project, Miles keeps messing up, and the team bickers and loses momentum. Miles is filled with self-doubt, and he has to wonder: Is he really a whiz at science, or is he actually a flop?

More books in the series - See All

School Library Journal

Gr 2-5--From the author of the "Jada Jones" series comes a new chapter book series set in the same group of friends. Focusing on Jada's friend, Miles Lewis, these titles give readers a look at a confident fourth grade Black boy who lives with his parents and grandmother. Miles enjoys science and being the best at everything he tries. King of the Ice focuses on Miles's first time ice skating during a class field trip. What starts as a friendly competition between Miles and his best friend becomes a much more anxiety-inducing event for Miles. Whiz Kid centers around the common stressor of navigating group projects as the fourth graders head into the school science fair. The books include a sprinkle of Black history, courtesy of Miles's father, a Black history professor. Spencer's cartoon-style illustrations are detailed and warm and add to the plot, which is relatively text-heavy, though it features large print. VERDICT Ideal for growing independent readers, this is highly recommended for fans of "Jada Jones" or Kara West's "Mia Mayhem" series.--Monisha Blair

Copyright 2022 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Kirkus

An honest, inspiring STEM-focused story starring an incredibly relatable future scientist.

Review quotes

An honest, inspiring STEM-focused story starring an incredibly relatable future scientist. —Kirkus

Ideal for growing independent readers, this is highly recommended for fans of "Jada Jones" or Kara West's "Mia ­Mayhem" series. —School Library Journal
Kelly Starling Lyons
Kelly Starling Lyons is the author of Sing a Song: How Lift Every Voice & Sing Inspired Generations; She Persisted: Coretta Scott King; and the Jada Jones and Miles Lewis chapter book series. She lives in North Carolina with her family, who loves collecting rocks just like Jada.

Nneka Myers has been known to paint worlds filled with color, texture, life, and diversity. Based in Toronto as a character designer and illustrator, her artwork can be found in TV animation, children's books, comics, and social media illustrations. When she is not a busy bee, she can often be found looking for inspiration in vintage fashion, drinking tea with friends, or playing video games.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780593383520
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publication date
July 20, 2022
Series
Miles Lewis

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!