Final Season

by Tim Green (Author)

Final Season
Reading Level: 4th – 5th Grade

From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a gripping, deeply personal standalone football novel about a star middle school quarterback faced with a life-changing decision after his dad is diagnosed with ALS. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica! With two all-star college football players for brothers and a former Atlanta Falcons defensive lineman for a father, it is only natural for sixth-grade quarterback Benjamin Redd to follow in their footsteps.

However, after his dad receives a heartbreaking ALS diagnosis--connected to all those hard hits and tackles he took on the field--Ben's mom becomes more determined than ever to get Ben to quit football.

Ben isn't playing just for himself though. This might be his dad's last chance to coach. And his teammates need a quarterback that can lead them to the championships. But as Ben watches the heavy toll ALS takes on his dad's body, he begins to question if this should be his final season after all.


Find books about:

Kirkus

Starred Review
An intense referendum on football’s dangers and glories.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780062485953
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publication date
September 20, 2021
Series
-
BISAC categories
JUV001000 - Juvenile Fiction | Action & Adventure
JUV015020 - Juvenile Fiction | Health & Daily Living | Diseases, Illnesses & Injuries
JUV013000 - Juvenile Fiction | Family | General
JUV032030 - Juvenile Fiction | Sports & Recreation | Football
Library of Congress categories
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!