Pearl Harbor (History Smashers)

by Kate Messner (Author) Dylan Meconis (Illustrator)

Reading Level: 4th − 5th Grade

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the infamous Pearl Harbor attack with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.

On December 7, 1941, the Japanese launched a completely unpredictable attack on the U.S. Navy base at Pearl Harbor, Hawaii. Right? Well, that's not quite the real deal. Some military experts had suggested that Pearl Harbor was a likely target. There were other warning signs, too, but nobody paid much attention. From the first wave of the Japanese bombers to the United States' internment of thousands of Japanese Americans, acclaimed author Kate Messner smashes history by exploring the little-known truths behind the story of Pearl Harbor and its aftermath.

Don't miss History Smashers: The Mayflower and Women's Right to Vote

Select format:
Paperback
$8.99

More books in the series - See All

Other series you might like

Kirkus Reviews

"An intriguing read that will encourage children to question simplistic historical narratives."

Review quotes

Praise for the History Smashers series:

"Critical, respectful, engaging: exemplary history for children." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"The book's format may be a good match for those with shorter attention spans, and permits it to be gratifyingly capacious in what it covers." —New York Times Book Review

"Well-researched, entertaining, and packed with facts." —Booklist

"Messner and Meconis provide a timely perspective on an important part of American history." —School Library Journal

"A history book for middle-graders that should be on everyone's (child and adult) to-read list." —Shelf Awareness

"Kate Messner serves up fun, fast history for kids who want the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. Absolutely smashing!" —Candace Fleming, award-wining author

"Informative and fun, eye-opening and entertaining. I wish I could have read History Smashers when I was in elementary school. I would have devoured them and developed a big appetite for even more of this sort of truth-telling." —Chris Barton, award-winning author
Kate Messner

Kate Messner is passionately curious and writes books for kids who wonder, too. Her award-winning titles include picture books like Once Upon a Book, Over and Under the Snow, and The Scariest Kitten in the World; middle-grade novels like All the Answers and Breakout; the Fergus and Zeke easy reader series; the Ranger in Time chapter book adventures; and the History Smashers illustrated nonfiction series. A former middle-school Language Arts teacher, she splits her time between New York's Champlain Valley and Florida's Gulf Coast. Visit her online at katemessner.com and find her on social media at @katemessner.

Classification
Non-fiction
ISBN-13
9780593120378
Lexile Measure
1000
Guided Reading Level
-
Publisher
Random House Books for Young Readers
Publication date
January 05, 2021
Series
History Smashers
BISAC categories
JNF025130 - Juvenile Nonfiction | History | Military & Wars
Library of Congress categories
United States
World War, 1939-1945
Japan
Foreign relations
Pearl Harbor (Hawaii), Attack on, 1941
Causes

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!