Children of Blood and Bone

by Tomi Adeyemi (Author)

Children of Blood and Bone
Reading Level: 8th − 9th Grade

Instant New York Times Bestseller
TIME Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time
TIME Best YA Books of All Time
TIME 100: Most Influential People of 2020
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
Paste Magazine's 30 Best YA Novels of 2018

Newsweek's 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globe's Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018

2019 YALSA Teen's Top Ten List

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

Praise for Children of Blood and Bone

"A phenomenon." --Entertainment Weekly

"The epic I've been waiting for." --New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

"You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!" --New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

"The next big thing in literature and film." --Ebony

"One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of the year." --Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.


#1
New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

Select format:
Hardcover
$21.99

Kirkus Reviews

Starred Review
"Powerful, captivating, and raw—Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional. (Fantasy. 14-adult)"

Publishers Weekly

Starred Review

Eleven years ago, King Saran cemented his grip on the throne by banishing magic from Orisha and slaughtering the realm's maji--Zelie Adebola's mother included. The maji's descendants--dark-skinned, white-haired people called diviners--have lived under tyranny ever since, but now there is cause for hope. Thanks to information gleaned from Saran's kindhearted daughter, Amari, 17-year-old Zelie has a chance to restore magic to Orisha and activate a new generation of maji. First, though, Zelie, Amari, and Zelie's brother Tzain must outrun the crown prince, Inan, who is determined to finish what his father started by eradicating magic for good. Book one in the Orisha Legacy trilogy, Adeyemi's devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love. By making tangible the power that comes from embracing one's heritage, Adeyemi conjures a story that resonates with magic both literal and figurative while condemning apathy in the face of injustice. Complex characters, colossal stakes, and a kaleidoscopic narrative captivate, and the book's punishing pace catapults readers to a jaw-dropping conclusion that poses as many questions as it answers. Ages 14-up. Agent: Alexandra Machinist and Hillary Jacobson, ICM. (Mar.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly, LLC Used with permission.

School Library Journal

Starred Review

Gr 9 Up--Zélie Adebola, 17, remembers the night of the raid in her village 11 years earlier. Her mama was chained by her neck and lynched with other maji by the forces of ruthless King Saran of Orisha. King Saran hates magic and considers it the source of all evil, so he targets and exterminates the maji, who worship ancestors and practice magic. Now, they live hopelessly as servants, slaves, stockers, and prisoners. Zélie strives to bring back magic in Orisha, so she becomes the main target of King Saran's maji cleansing campaign. She sets out on her spiritual journey with her athletic brother Tzain and pet lioness Nailah. They encounter an unexpected ally. Princess Amari of Orisha escapes from her estate of Lagose after witnessing the murder of Binta, her maji best friend and handmaiden, at her father's merciless hands. Zélie, Tzain, and Amari go on the run to restore magic in Orisha. Adeyemi's debut and series opener is a revelation. She has brilliantly woven the Yoruba language and culture into a complex and epic tale. Readers will appreciate the intergenerational cast. Teens won't feel lost in this lengthy tome because of the excellent use of flashbacks and backstories. The violence can be extreme at times, but it doesn't feel exploitative, and themes of female empowerment make this especially relevant. VERDICT This extraordinary literary work offers a refreshing YA fantasy with an all--West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf.--Donald Peebles, Brooklyn Public Library

Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

"A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut." —New York Times-bestselling author Daniel José Older

"High stakes, a captivating fantasy landscape, and a brave heroine worth rooting for make Children of Blood and Bone unlike anything I've ever read." —Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of Beautiful Creatures and author of The Lovely Reckless

"Powerful, captivating, and raw—Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional." —Kirkus, Starred Review

"Adeyemi's devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love." —Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

..". Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel Jose´ Older, and Sabaa Tahir." —Booklist, Starred Review

..".A refreshing YA fantasy with an all-West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf." —School Library Journal, Starred Review

"This is an exceptional debut from the author and will have a huge audience desperately waiting for more. Children of Blood and Bone is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas." —VOYA, Starred Review

"Nigerian culture and geography... give this fantasy a distinct flavor, further distinguished by the intensity of emotion." —Horn Book

"Meet Tomi Adeyemi—the new J.K. Rowling. (Yep, she's that good)." —Entertainment Weekly

"Poses thought-provoking questions about race, class and authority that hold up a warning mirror to our sharply divided society." -The New York Times

"A fast-paced, excellently crafted hero's journey...populated with compelling and nuanced black characters." -NPR

"A debut novel that is nearly impossible to put down."-USA Today

"Adeyemi's writing is beautiful and immersive." -Tor.com

"A miraculous achievement." -The Guardian

Tomi Adeyemi
Named one of TIME magazine's 100 most influential people, Tomi Adeyemi is a Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Nigerian-American writer and storyteller based in Los Angeles, CA. After graduating from Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology, religion, and culture in Salvador, Brazil. Her first novel, Children of Blood and Bone, debuted at #1 on The New York Times Bestseller list and is being developed into a movie by Disney's Fox & Lucasfilm. Its highly anticipated sequel, Children of Virtue and Vengeance, also debuted at #1 on the New York Times Bestseller list. When she's not working or playing with puppies, Tomi can be found teaching creative writing at thewritersroadmap.net. In 2020, she was named one of Forbes 30 Under 30 in Media, and her website has been named one of the 101 best websites for writers by Writer's Digest.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781250170972
Lexile Measure
670
Guided Reading Level
-
Publisher
Henry Holt & Company
Publication date
March 20, 2018
Series
Children of Orisha
BISAC categories
YAF019000 - Young Adult Fiction | Fantasy | General
YAF030000 - Young Adult Fiction | Legends, Myths, Fables | General
YAF058190 - Young Adult Fiction | Social Themes | Prejudice & Racism
Library of Congress categories
Brothers and sisters
Magic
Fantasy
Fantasy fiction
Prejudices
Youths' writings
Government, Resistance to
Youths' writings, American

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!