Over and Under the Canyon (Over and Under)

by Kate Messner (Author) Christopher Silas Neal (Illustrator)

Over and Under the Canyon (Over and Under)
Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade
In this latest book in the acclaimed Over and Under series, a spectacular hike reveals the hidden wonders, rich colors, and layers of wildlife living within a thriving desert slot-canyon.

Over and Under the Canyon takes young readers on a thrilling tour of a desert canyon ecosystem. Over the canyon, the sun scalds the air, baking desert mud to stone. But under the shade of the cliffs hides another world, where bighorn sheep bound from rock to rock on the hillside, roadrunners make their nests in sturdy cacti, and banded geckos tuck themselves into the shelter of the sand. Discover the wonders concealed in the curves of the canyon, the magic of a desert wildflower bloom, and all the unexpected creatures that bring the desert to life.

DISCOVER AMAZING ANIMALS: Kids are endlessly curious about the natural world and the wildly varied animals living in it--and the desert is FULL of amazing and surprising animals!

CAPTIVATING NONFICTION: Like its predecessors, this latest offering in the Over and Under picture book series illuminates the magic of the natural world and its amazing inhabitants by telling the story of one family's hike through a real-world desert ecosystem in lyrical prose and color-drenched illustrations. Even the most reluctant readers will be drawn into a fact-filled story this compelling!

GREAT FOR TEACHING: The Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) emphasize learning about animal habitats/biomes in K-2 curriculums, while later grades address topics like food chains, conservation, and endangered species. With a depth of research and an engaging, highly visual narrative, this book is an excellent resource for librarians and primary school educators.

ENCOURAGES ENVIRONMENTAL AWARENESS: Concern for and preservation of the wilderness is an increasingly talked-about topic. This book provides a great, upbeat jumping-off point for discussions of the importance and wonder of our world's natural habitats and ecosystems.

ACCLAIMED AUTHOR-ILLUSTRATOR TEAM: Kate Messner is an award-winning author whose books for kids have been New York Times Notable, Junior Library Guild, IndieBound, and Bank Street College of Education Best Book selections. In addition to his work on this acclaimed series, Christopher Silas Neal is an award-winning illustrator and author who regularly contributes to the New York Times and The New Yorker, and he has been awarded a medal from the Society of Illustrators.

Perfect for:

- Parents
- Nature lovers
- Fans of Kate Messner
- Fans of Over and Under the Snow and previous books in the series
- Educators and librarians seeking nonfiction books with STEM content


Kate Messner
Kate Messner is the author of The Seventh Wish; All the Answers; The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z., winner of the E. B. White Read Aloud Award for Older Readers; Capture the Flag, an SCBWI Crystal Kite Award winner; Hide and Seek; Manhunt; and the Ranger in Time and Marty McGuire chapter book series. A former middle-school English teacher, Kate lives on Lake Champlain with her family and loves reading, walking in the woods, and traveling. Visit her online at katemessner.com.
Greg Ruth has written and drawn stories for Dark Horse Comics, DC/Vertigo Comics, Fantagraphics, and the New York Times. He is also the illustrator of Our Enduring Spirit, a picture book edition of President Barack Obama's first inaugural address, and the creator of the graphic novel The Lost Boy. Greg lives and works in western Massachusetts. Visit his website at gregthings.com.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781452169392
Lexile Measure
680L
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publication date
September 20, 2021
Series
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!