The Real True Friend (Dory Fantasmagory #2)

by Abby Hanlon (Author)

Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade
The star of Dory Fantasmagory is heading to school. Her older siblings, Luke and Violet, warn her to leave her imaginary friend, Mary, at home--or better yet, leave her whole imagination at home! But on her very first day she meets a new friend, a girl whose imagination and style are just about as wild as her own. Now she just has to convince her siblings that she's not making it all up! Filled with plenty of funny pictures, this book bursts with charm and impudence, making this a must-read for the chapter book set.
Select format:
Paperback
$7.99

Find books about:

More books in the series - See All

Other series you might like

Kirkus Reviews

Old friends and new will hope this highly successful sequel will not be the last starring this inventive, original child. 

School Library Journal

Gr 2-4--Dory has quite the imagination. She has a monster for a friend, a fairy godmother who understands her, and a nemesis named Mrs. Gobble Gracker. When Dory starts a new year at school, however, she decides that it's time to make a real pal. After all, her monster friend caused a lot of trouble. Rosabelle, a girl her age who has an amazing imagination just like Dory seems like a good option. But Rosabelle doesn't seem to want to spend any time with her. Can Dory win her over? What will happen when Mrs. Gobble Gracker gets in the way? The story is well written, humorous, and engaging. The illustrations are amazingly detailed and complement the text well. The characters are fairly well developed and will grab young readers. Fans of Annie Barrows's "Ivy and Bean" (Chronicle), Barbara Park's "Junie B. Jones" (Random), and books with a little bit of humor and fantasy mixed into a school setting will enjoy reading this second installment in the "Dory" series. VERDICT A great addition to any library collection.--Kira Moody, Whitmore Public Library, Salt Lake City, UT

Copyright 2015 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Publishers Weekly

In a sequel every bit as delightful as its predecessor, Hanlon follows the wildly imaginative star of Dory Fantasmagory to school, where Dory attempts to make a "real" friend (as opposed to the monsters she plays with at home). She is immediately drawn to a princess-loving girl named Rosabelle, but Dory's overtures of friendship don't initially hit their mark: " 'Do you want some floppy cookies?' I whisper to her, which is my nickname for salami because I love it so much. She does not." Once again, Hanlon's hilarious narration and cartooning reveal an uncanny talent for getting into the mile-a-minute mind of a one-of-a-kind girl. Ages 6-8. Agent: Ann Tobias, A Literary Agency for Children's Books. (July)

Copyright 2015 Publishers Weekly, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

Praise for Dory Fantasmagory

A Golden Kite Honor Book for Fiction
ALA/ALSC/YALSA 2015 Notable Children's Book
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2014
A Kirkus Best Book of 2014
One of Parent's Magazine one of the "10 Best Children's Books" of 2014 

Abby Hanlon
Abby Hanlon is a former teacher. Inspired by her students' storytelling, Abby began to write her own stories for children, and taught herself to draw. She is the author of Ralph Tells a Story. Abby lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and their two children.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780525428664
Lexile Measure
610L
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Dial Books
Publication date
July 20, 2015
Series
Dory Fantasmagory
BISAC categories
JUV039060 - Juvenile Fiction | Social Themes | Friendship
JUV019000 - Juvenile Fiction | Humorous Stories
JUV051000 - Juvenile Fiction | Imagination & Play
JUV045000 - Juvenile Fiction | Readers | Chapter Books
Library of Congress categories
Brothers and sisters
Friendship
Imaginary playmates
Imagination
Families
Family life
Schools
Imaginary companions
Cybils
Finalist 2015 - 2015

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!