Dory Dory Black Sheep (Dory Fantasmagory #3)

by Abby Hanlon (Author)

Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade

Dory turns learning to read into a hilarious adventure through the power of imagination--perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones and Ivy and Bean!

Ever since Dory met Rosabelle, a real true friend whose imagination and high spirits match her own, school has been pretty good. But now the class is learning to read, and it's proving to be a challenge for Dory. While Rosabelle can read chapter books in her head, Dory is stuck with baby books about a happy little farm. Dory wishes for a potion to turn her into a reader but things don't go as planned. Suddenly, a naughty little girl who looks an awful lot like Dory's imaginary nemesis, Mrs. Gobble Gracker, shows up. And a black sheep leaves the pages of the farm book to follow Dory to school. It really needs her help--this seems like a job for a superhero! And it would help if she knew how to read. In her third book, Dory takes reluctant reading to new heights with a story that is as one-of-a-kind and hilarious as she is.

Select format:
Paperback
$7.99

Find books about:

More books in the series - See All

Other series you might like

Kirkus

Dory progresses from reluctant reader to determined learner, with plenty of adventure along the way: visiting Rosabelle in her castle, donning a superhero costume, rescuing Rosabelle’s little brother, and traveling beyond the universe to return the lost sheep to his family. Dory’s fans will be entertained by this further adventure; an early illustrated spread will quickly draw new readers into Dory’s fantasmagorical worlds. 

ALA/Booklist

Hanlon has a winning way with the story's characters (real and imaginary) and dialogue.... The third entry in the Dory Fantasmagory series will satisfy the many young chapter-book readers who like their books served with a generous helping of fun.

Review quotes

"If you haven't read the previous two Dory books yet, get on with it already. They're quirky and funny and capture childhood like few books can."—100 Scope Notes blog 

Abby Hanlon
Abby Hanlon is a former teacher. Inspired by her students' storytelling, Abby began to write her own stories for children, and taught herself to draw. She is the author of Ralph Tells a Story. Abby lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and their two children.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781101994276
Lexile Measure
610L
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Puffin Books
Publication date
September 20, 2017
Series
Dory Fantasmagory
BISAC categories
JUV019000 - Juvenile Fiction | Humorous Stories
JUV051000 - Juvenile Fiction | Imagination & Play
JUV045000 - Juvenile Fiction | Readers | Chapter Books
Library of Congress categories
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!