Pacey Packer Unicorn Tracker: Horn Slayer (Pacey Packer: Unicorn Tracker #2)

by J C Phillipps (Author)

Pacey and Slasher the Unicorn are back and THIS time it's personal in this laugh-out-loud graphic novel series with ATTITUDE that's just right for fans of Phoebe and Her Unicorn, Bad Guys, and anyone who loves (or hates!) unicorns!

The last time Pacey Packer was in Rundalyn, the world of unicorns, she sliced the horn off of Arkane, the Evil Apha Unicorn, and took away his power. KI-AHHHH! TAKE THAT BAD GUYS! Now the unicorns and other creatures under Arkane's rule call her . . . THE HORN SLAYER! Pacey may be a LEGEND in the world of unicorns, but she didn't finish the job. With Slasher's help, can she use the power of the unicorn horn to rescue the statue kids and escape the fury of the Great (but seriously horn-less and now SERIOUSLY mad at her) Arkane?!


More books in the series - See All

Other series you might like

Kirkus Reviews

Phillipps includes a mini–drawing lesson at the end. A refreshing change of pace for unicorn devotees a bit weary of the sugary, mild-mannered sort. (Graphic fantasy. 7-10).

Copyright 2021 Kirkus Reviews, LLC Used with permission.

School Library Journal

Gr 2-5--Following Pacey Packer's victory in the previous volume where she de-horned the evil unicorn Arkane, Pacey lives in peace with her little sister Mina and plushie-unicorn friend Slasher. It isn't long before they run into Slasher's old friend Carlos, visiting from the magic land of Rundalyn. Arkane's severed horn still has magic power, though corrupt, that could rescue petrified children in Rundalyn. All of them, plus Pacey's dog Lucky, take on the quest and return to Rundalyn, aided by a race of Mogs who are oppressed by Arkane's forces. This epic fantasy works in layers, with complex characters to creative paneling, in a palette of black, whites, and shades of purple. Regret, responsibility, integrity, and ego all motivate the spunky cast in different ways. For example, the sardonic Slasher wishes to return to his original unicorn body but considers his current form a fitting punishment for something he did long ago. VERDICT Readers would be best served by starting with the first book, to get a sense of the characters and lore; having devoured those, they'll be left waiting impatiently for the dramatically teased third entry.--Thomas Maluck, Richland Lib., SC

Copyright 2021 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

"Nonstop action, expressive artwork, and witty asides give this strong reader appeal. A refreshing change of pace for unicorn devotees a bit weary of the sugary, mild-mannered sort." —Kirkus Reviews
J C Phillipps
J.C. Phillipps is a picture book creator and longtime graphic novel reader as well as the owner of a somewhat extensive (though mostly accidental) unicorn collection. Like Pacey, she is occasionally snarky. Unlike Pacey, she hasn't met a real unicorn--yet. J.C. lives in Connecticut with her husband and son. Pacey Packer: Unicorn Tracker is her middle-grade and graphic novel debut. Visit her online @JCPhillipps.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781984850577
Lexile Measure
230L
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publication date
June 20, 2021
Series
Pacey Packer: Unicorn Tracker

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!