Pacey Packer Unicorn Tracker (Pacey Packer: Unicorn Tracker #1)

by J C Phillipps (Author)

Introducing a brand-new middle-grade graphic novel series with attitude that's just right for fans of Babymouse and Real Friends, and for anyone who loves--or hates!--unicorns!

Pacey's little sister, Mina, has always said her stuffed unicorn, Slasher, is real--but seriously? He's a stuffed toy! Then again, he does seem to be leading Mina outside her room and to . . . some kind of weird magical unicorn land? Pacey may not believe in unicorns, but she's not about to let her little sister be kidnapped, so she does the only thing she can: follows them to unicorn land (that she totally does NOT believe in). And for the record, it's NOTHING like the stories. First off, what's up with Slasher's attitude? It's not Pacey's fault he's trapped in a ridiculous stuffed body. And that Alpha Unicorn guy? NOT. Nice. Pacey will just be grabbing Mina and taking her home, thankyouverymuch . . . that is, if she can work with the grumpiest unicorn stuffy ever to outsmart the Evil Alpha Unicorn and find the way out--preferably without stepping on any poisonous killer flowers. (WHAT IS WITH THIS PLACE ANYWAY?!)


More books in the series - See All

Other series you might like

Kirkus Reviews

Pacey and Mina both have pale skin and straight, black hair. For settings where the Phoebe and Her Unicorn series has ravenous fans. (Graphic fantasy. 7-10).

Copyright 2020 Kirkus Reviews, LLC Used with permission.

School Library Journal

GR 2-5-In her daydreams, Pacey Packer is a brave and powerful knight, wielding the Sword of Destiny against evil monsters. In reality, she is stuck babysitting her whiny sister, Mina. But when Mina is spirited away across a rainbow bridge on the back of a unicorn, Pacey's protective instinct kicks in. She grabs onto Mina's beloved (and apparently sentient) stuffed unicorn, Slasher, but when Slasher loses his grip, Mina appears to be lost. Pacey is lost in the magical land of Rundalyn accompanied only by Slasher, who is in fact a Rundalyn native. Can Pacey find Mina and get her home without being eaten by carnivorous plants, impaled on poisonous thorns, or turned to stone? Is Pacey the hero she thinks she is? Can she trust Slasher? There's more here than meets the eye-- the humorous art style and snarky dialogue belie a surprising amount of character development and intrigue. Phillips combines the premise and reverse-fairyland setting of Suzanne Collins's Gregor the Overlander with the sarcasm and simplified cartoon style of Family Guy (Slasher is a dead ringer for Brian the dog) for an appealing series starter. VERDICT Action and imaginative peril propel this girl-powered story of bad unicorns in a magic land. Readers will look forward to more smart mouth heroics from Pacey and Slasher.--Paula Willey, Enoch Pratt Free Lib., Baltimore

Copyright 2020 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

"Action and imaginative peril propel this girl-powered story of bad unicorns in a magic land. Readers will look forward to more smart-mouth heroics from Pacey and Slasher." —School Library Journal
J C Phillipps
J.C. Phillipps is a picture book creator and longtime graphic novel reader as well as the owner of a somewhat extensive (though mostly accidental) unicorn collection. Like Pacey, she is occasionally snarky. Unlike Pacey, she hasn't met a real unicorn--yet. J.C. lives in Connecticut with her husband and son. Pacey Packer: Unicorn Tracker is her middle-grade and graphic novel debut. Visit her online @JCPhillipps.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781984850546
Lexile Measure
220L
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publication date
August 20, 2020
Series
Pacey Packer: Unicorn Tracker
Little Maverick Reading List
Selection 2021

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!