The Tryout

by Christina Soontornvat (Author) Joanna Cacao (Illustrator)

Reading Level: 6th − 7th Grade

From two-time Newbery Honoree and Kirkus Prize winner Christina Soontornvat, and stellar new talent, Joanna Cacao, comes a high stakes, highly relatable graphic novel about courage and competition, friendship and belonging, and learning to feel comfortable in your own skin. Perfect for fans of New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

Trying out for middle school cheerleader means: performing in the giant school gym, with the whole school watching, and risking total humiliation. If Christina can make it through this, she can make it through anything. ​​​​​​​ As one of the only Asian American kids in her small Texas town, Christina just wants to fit in. Luckily, her best friend, Megan, who is Iranian American, can totally relate. The two girls have always been inseparable and relish creating elaborate fantasy worlds together. But middle school is a reality-check, and suddenly popularity is way more important than playing pretend. ​​​​​​​ When cheerleading tryouts are announced, Christina and Megan literally jump at the chance to join the squad. But does fitting in actually equal belonging? Will they survive the terrifying tryouts? And most importantly, will their friendship withstand the pressures of heated competition and rivalry? ​​​​​​​

Hilarious and heartfelt, The Tryout is Christina Soontornvat's personal story, sure to make you laugh, cry, and cheer!

Select format:
Paperback
$12.99

Kirkus

Starred Review
A funny, painfully honest look at a middle schooler finding her way.

I love it

It great

this book is going to be good to read and i hlop i get it

Your review was denied! Please edit your review and resend it.

this book is going to be good to read and i hlop i get it

Your review was denied! Please edit your review and resend it.

this book is going to be good to read and i hlop i get it

Christina Soontornvat
Christina Soontornvat grew up in a small Texas town, where she spent many childhood days behind the counter of her parents' Thai restaurant with her nose in a book. She is the author of many books for young readers, including The Last Mapmaker, a Newbery Honor Book as well as a Walter Dean Myers Honor Book for Teen Readers. She is also the author of the Newbery Honor Books A Wish in the Dark and All Thirteen: The Incredible Cave Rescue of the Thai Boys' Soccer Team, also a Robert F. Sibert Honor Book and a YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults finalist. Christina Soontornvat lives in Austin, Texas.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781338741261
Lexile Measure
-
Guided Reading Level
-
Publisher
Graphix
Publication date
September 06, 2022
Series
-
BISAC categories
JNF053140 - Juvenile Nonfiction | Social Topics | Prejudice & Racism
JNF062000 - Juvenile Nonfiction | Comics & Graphic Novels | General
JNF053060 - Juvenile Nonfiction | Social Topics | Friendship
JNF054240 - Juvenile Nonfiction | Sports & Recreation | Cheerleading
Library of Congress categories
Friendship
Schools
Friendship in children
Graphic novels
Middle schools
Best friends
Cartoons and comics
Thai Americans
Cheerleading
Iranian Americans
School comics
Racism in schools

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!