The Haunted Woods (Sparkleton #5)

by Calliope Glass (Author) Hollie Mengert (Illustrator)

The Haunted Woods (Sparkleton #5)
Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade
Series: Sparkleton

Sparkleton braves a night in the haunted woods in the fifth book of this full-color early chapter book series about a wishful unicorn who will do anything to get wish-granting powers--except his homework.

When Sparkleton finds out he can get wish-granting magic just by camping out in the haunted woods, he packs his tent! His best friends, Willow and Gabe, are ready for adventure. But can they fend off ghostly lights, twisted ankles, creepy noises, and the dreaded Whirlwind Unicorn long enough to make Sparkleton's dream come true? Or will their dream sleepover turn into a nightmare?

This full-color art-filled early chapter book series is for unicorn fans to enjoy at home or in the classroom! With short, fast-paced books, art on every page, and milestone markers at the end of every chapter.

More books in the series - See All


Sparkleton's flaws make him an accessible character and offer a good source of low-stakes tension. A quirky series that's strong out of the gate.

Review quotes

Calliope Glass

Calliope Glass is a children's book writer and editor in New York City. She likes to eat Popsicles, solve crossword puzzles, read comic books, and sing loudly. She has two small children, which is almost like having two pet bears but not as good.

Andrew Kolb is an illustrator, reader, and all-around Spider-Fan who hails from Ontario, Canada. His favorite villain is the Lizard, and his favorite story is Amazing Spider-Man: Hooky. He and his work can be found online at

Lexile Measure
Guided Reading Level
Publication date
September 20, 2021

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!