Golden Girl

by Reem Faruqi (Author)

Golden Girl
Reading Level: 4th – 5th Grade

From the award-winning, ALA Notable author of Unsettled and Lailah's Lunchbox, this is a captivating coming-of-age middle grade novel in verse about seventh grader Aafiyah Qamar, a Pakistani American girl who hatches a special plan to help her family but finds that doing what's right isn't always easy. For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and Clean Getaway, this is a heartfelt, soul-searching story with laughter, hope, and lessons learned.

Seventh grader Aafiyah loves playing tennis, reading Weird but True facts, and hanging out with her best friend, Zaina. However, Aafiyah has a bad habit that troubles her--she's drawn to pretty things and can't help but occasionally "borrow" them.

But when her father is falsely accused of a crime he hasn't committed and gets taken in by authorities, Aafiyah knows she needs to do something to help. When she brainstorms a way to bring her father back, she turns to her Weird but True facts and devises the perfect plan.

But what if her plan means giving in to her bad habit, the one she's been trying to stop? Aafiyah wants to reunite her family but finds that maybe her plan isn't so perfect after all. . .

A story about family, friendship, change, and hope. --Kirkus

"In Aafiyah, Faruqi creates a relatable but flawed protagonist whose road to redemption makes for an engaging, warmhearted story." --Booklist

Much like in her previous novel Unsettled, Faruqi's elegantly crafted verse illuminates a Muslim family navigating and ultimately transcending domestic challenges. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"This story [has] a well-characterized, flawed heroine and a lot of heart." --Publishers Weekly


Kirkus

A story about family, friendship, change, and hope.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780063044753
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publication date
February 20, 2022
Series
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!