The Quest Begins (Seekers #1)

by Erin Hunter (Author)

Reading Level: 4th − 5th Grade
Series: Seekers

The first book in a thrilling animal fantasy series following the epic journey of three bears, from the #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors.

When three young bears from different species--black, polar, and grizzly--are separated from their families, fate brings them together on a path that will change their lives forever. Along the way, they will face great danger, terrible tragedies, new landscapes, and situations that require all their ingenuity to survive.

For fans of Warriors, Survivors, and animal fantasy series like Wings of Fire and Foxcraft, Seekers is a sweeping and incredible journey through the beautiful, dangerous world of wild bears. 

Select format:
Paperback
$7.99

More books in the series - See All

Other series you might like

Publishers Weekly

Hunter (the Warriors series) kicks off a new series as three young bears, unknown to one another, each embark on a perilous journey. Two of the characters, Kallik, a polar bear, and Toklo, a grizzly, were born in the wild and lose their mothers to tragic events. To survive, they must draw on their underdeveloped instincts. Lusa, a black bear, has grown up in the Bear Bowl, a protected environment at a zoo, but to fulfill a promise (to Toklo's rescued mother, as it turns out) she leaves it and ventures into wilderness. The bears find help from other, more seasoned bears and are comforted by their belief in mythical bear spirits as they navigate the harsh realities of life in the wild. By the end, only Toklo and Lusa have met, and the purpose of the quest has not been fully revealed. Although this book does not seem as tightly written as the Warriors titles, readers will appreciate the bears' struggle to survive, along with Hunter's environmental theme. The suspenseful conclusion will build in an eager audience for the next installment. Ages 10 up. "(June)" Copyright 2008 Publishers Weekly, LLC Used with permission.

School Library Journal

Gr 5-9 In this new series, readers meet three bear cubs: Kallik, a polar bear; Lusa, a black bear; and Toklo, a brown bear. The story follows their adventures, narrated in alternating chapters. Kallik loses her mother in a killer-whale attack and is separated from her brother. She has never lived on her own before, and never been anywhere but on the ice. Lusa hears stories about life in the wild that eventually cause her to leave the safety of the zoo. Toklo is abandoned by his mother, who flees into the woods in grief when his brother dies. All three cubs are now learning to survive in the woods with minimal knowledge and ability and with no adult allies. From the first page, this story is exciting and refreshing. The bears' declining habitat is evident, and often throughout their journey the animals have to dodge cars and humans with guns. The plot is fast paced, and the author is apt at creating and sustaining the adrenaline-charged mood of these youngsters on their own."Jennifer-Lynn Draper, Children's Literature Consultant, Oshawa, Ontario, Canada" Copyright 2008 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

"These stories will be welcomed by the Warriors series' many fans."—ALA Booklist
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780060871246
Lexile Measure
840
Guided Reading Level
-
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publication date
February 10, 2009
Series
Seekers
BISAC categories
JUV002030 - Juvenile Fiction | Animals | Bears
JUV037000 - Juvenile Fiction | Fantasy & Magic
JUV001000 - Juvenile Fiction | Action & Adventure
Library of Congress categories
Bears
Adventure and adventurers
Adventure stories
Fantasy
Fantasy fiction
Quests (Expeditions)

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!