The Night Door (Edison Beaker, Creature Seeker #1)

by Frank Cammuso (Author)

The Night Door (Edison Beaker, Creature Seeker #1)

In this hilarious graphic novel, Edison Beaker is about to find out what services the family business, Creature Seekers Pest Control, really offer. (Hint: forget about rat and roach removal . . . think monster hunting!)

Edison Beaker and his young sister Tesla are staying with their uncle Earl, manager of the family pest control company, when an alarm sounds and he has no choice but to drag them along on a service call.

They should have listened when he warned them, "stay in the van."

Monster-sized mayhem ensues when the kids chase their escaped hamster into a mysterious warehouse--and suddenly they are the ones being chased as all sorts of creepy creatures scurry, slink, and stomp through a secret Night Door.

The first of two new middle-school graphic novels that introduce a funny, smart, likable, reluctant hero and his wisecracking younger sister, whose adventures are sure to appeal to readers of Lunch Lady, Hilo, and Caveboy Dave.

Select format:
Paperback
$10.99

More books in the series - See All

Other series you might like

Kirkus Reviews

The tale feels comfortably familiar in its worldbuilding and its accessible theme of light versus dark, but fresh details keep it from feeling formulaic. 

School Library Journal

Gr 3-7--Like many kids, Edison Beaker is afraid of the dark. After his father goes missing, Edison keeps the flashlight he gave him to chase away monsters. When Edison and his nosy little sister Tesla get stuck with their uncle Earl for the night, they assume they'll have a quiet night in. But Uncle Earl is actually a "creature seeker" who works to keep the monsters at bay from the human world. Edison and Tesla are unexpectedly dragged into the Underwhere (prompting many jokes about its homonym, of course), and with the help of Tesla's curious pet hamster and a cool monster girl named Knox, they must do their part to keep the darkness from invading. The adults show up when convenient, letting the kids tackle most of the problem-solving. Edison and Tesla have a charming sibling dynamic--though they annoy each other, they also have a bond based on love and trust. While this volume wraps up the immediate conflict, larger questions about the world and the characters are left unanswered, so readers will be invested in future installments. Cammuso's artwork is more cute than scary, but his panel work is creative and heightens the suspense. VERDICT Hand this start to a winning series to those who enjoy Jeff Smith's "Bone" or are looking for a rip-roaring, funny adventure.--Gretchen Hardin, Sterling Municipal Library, Baytown, TX

Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

"Frank Cammuso is a masterful cartoonist and Edison Beaker is an absolute delight."
Gene Luen Yang
former National Ambassador for Young People's Literature, Printz-Award winning creator of American Born Chinese, and New York Times bestselling author of Secret Coders

"I love Frank Cammuso's comics! Great characters, snappy dialogue, and always something awesome going on!"
Jeff Smith
Creator of the New York Times bestselling, award-winning series Bone

"Frank's seemingly effortless cartoon touch, characters, and sense of humor make this charming, chase-filled, slapstick, modern fantasy adventure that feels like Calvin and Hobbes meets Monster Squad, a delight to read! Five rolling hamsters out of five!"
Douglas Holgate
Illustrator of the New York Times bestselling series The Last Kids on Earth
Frank Cammuso
Frank Cammuso is the Eisner-nominated creator of the Max Hamm, Fairy Tale Detective graphic novels. His work has appeared in the NEW YORK TIMES, The WASHINGTON POST, USA TODAY and NEWSWEEK. He lives in Syracuse, New York.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780425291924
Lexile Measure
500L
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Viking Books for Young Readers
Publication date
October 20, 2018
Series
Edison Beaker, Creature Seeker
BISAC categories
JUV008000 - Juvenile Fiction | Comics & Graphic Novels | General
JUV037000 - Juvenile Fiction | Fantasy & Magic
JUV001000 - Juvenile Fiction | Action & Adventure
JUV052000 - Juvenile Fiction | Monsters
Library of Congress categories
Magic
Families
Family life
Graphic novels
Monsters
Cartoons and comics
Comics (Graphic works)

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!