Bat and the Waiting Game (A Boy Called Bat #2)

by Elana K Arnold (Author) Charles Santoso (Illustrator)

Bat and the Waiting Game (A Boy Called Bat #2)
Reading Level: 4th − 5th Grade

In the tradition of Clementine and Ramona Quimby, meet Bat. Author Elana K. Arnold returns with another irresistible story of friendship in this widely acclaimed series starring an unforgettable boy on the autism spectrum.

For Bixby Alexander Tam (nicknamed Bat), life is pretty great. He's the caretaker of the best baby skunk in the world--even Janie, his older sister, is warming up to Thor. When Janie gets a part in the school play and can't watch Bat after school, it means some pretty big changes. Someone else has to take care of the skunk kit in the afternoons, Janie is having sleepovers with her new friends, and Bat wants everything to go back to normal.He just has to make it to the night of Janie's performance. . . .

Select format:
Paperback
$6.99

Find books about:

More books in the series - See All

Other series you might like

School Library Journal

Gr 3-6--Bixby Alexander Tam, better know as Bat, is back. Picking up a week after A Boy Called Bat left off, this is a strong and more plot-focused sequel. Raising Thor, the skunk kit, has given Bat purpose and confidence. He's upset when his sister Janie lands the lead in the school play and will have after-school rehearsals, which will break his routine and require him to spend a few afternoons a week at a friend's house away from Thor. Bat's world expands as he navigates experiences that have been challenging to him: friendships, collaborative projects, and even messy things like art. Despite these strides, Bat still harbors a resentment toward Janie and feels guilt about spending less time with Thor. While the novel stands on its own, familiarity with Bat and his family will help deepen readers' understanding and enjoyment of this latest installment. Bat's autism is occasionally referenced, but it is not the major focus of the narrative. Bat is a delightful, inquisitive, and occasionally mischievous boy and the realistically portrayed themes explored in the book like sibling rivalry, living in two households, and shifting friendship dynamics will resonate with a wide variety of young readers. Short chapters are peppered with frequent illustrations of emotional moments. VERDICT This humorous follow-up is even stronger than its predecessor and will leave readers hoping for a third book featuring Bat and his family.--Juliet Morefield, Belmont Library, Portland, OR

Copyright 2017 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

"Delightful. This humorous follow-up is even stronger than its predecessor and will leave readers hoping for a third book featuring Bat and his family."—School Library Journal
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780062445858
Lexile Measure
840
Guided Reading Level
-
Publisher
Walden Pond Press
Publication date
March 27, 2018
Series
A Boy Called Bat
BISAC categories
JUV039060 - Juvenile Fiction | Social Themes | Friendship
JUV019000 - Juvenile Fiction | Humorous Stories
JUV039150 - Juvenile Fiction | Social Themes | Special Needs
JUV013070 - Juvenile Fiction | Family | Siblings
Library of Congress categories
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!