Cece Loves Science (Cece Loves Science #1)

by Kimberly Derting (Author) Vashti Harrison (Illustrator)

Cece Loves Science (Cece Loves Science #1)
Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade

Cece loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, Cece asks one of life's most pressing questions: Do dogs eat vegetables? Cece and her best friend, Isaac, head to the lab to find out.

This picture book is perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, and anyone who enjoys asking questions.

Cece's parents say she was born curious. She asks: Why? How? What if? When her teacher, Ms. Curie, assigns a science project, Cece knows just what to ask--do dogs eat vegetables? She teams up with her best friend, Isaac, and her dog, Einstein, to discover the answer. They investigate, research, collect data, and analyze, using Einstein as their case study. Their final conclusion is surprising, and a lot of fun!


Select format:
Paperback
$7.99

More books in the series - See All

Other series you might like

School Library Journal

K-Gr 3--Budding scientist Cece is always asking questions such as "Why?" "How?" and "What if?" Excited by her teacher's assignment to find and investigate a question, she pairs up with a partner, Isaac, to brainstorm ideas, come up with a question, make observations, test possibilities (variables), interpret their data, and make a conclusion. Their question is "Do dogs eat vegetables?" and her dog Einstein is their subject. They try out different vegetables, but Einstein turns up his nose at them all. Harrison's animation-style digital illustrations--a mix of vignettes, full pages and spreads--show a long-haired, brown-skinned girl, her mixed-race family, her lighter-skinned friend, and an adorable terrier. Several of the pages show the questions and their answers on "Ms. Curie's Science Project Worksheet." Cece's disappointment at the uninteresting results of her project is contrasted, on a facing page, with a portrait of a brainstorm, possibly suggested by her banana dessert. Einstein does eat vegetables in smoothies. The story includes images of an inviting science classroom and mentions a variety of sciences and a range of scientists diverse in race and gender. VERDICT Words and pictures combine to make smooth blend of entertainment and education that may be useful in early elementary classrooms. An appealing concoction.--Kathleen Isaacs, Children's Literature Specialist, Pasadena, MD

Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

"Harrison's clean, bright illustrations add expression and personality to the story. ...this endearing protagonist earns a place on the children's STEM shelf. A good introduction to observation, data, and trying again."—Kirkus Reviews
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780062499608
Lexile Measure
550L
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Greenwillow Books
Publication date
June 20, 2018
Series
Cece Loves Science
BISAC categories
JUV036000 - Juvenile Fiction | Science & Technology
JUV002190 - Juvenile Fiction | Animals | Pets
JUV002070 - Juvenile Fiction | Animals | Dogs
JUV035000 - Juvenile Fiction | School & Education
Library of Congress categories
Dogs
Scientists
Science projects
JUVENILE FICTION / School & Education
JUVENILE FICTION / Science & Technology
JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Pets

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!