Ivy & Bean (Ivy & Bean #1)

by Annie Barrows (Author) Sophie Blackall (Illustrator)

Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade
Series: Ivy & Bean
The moment they saw each other, Bean and Ivy knew they wouldn't be friends. But when Bean plays a joke on her sister, Nancy, and has to hide quickIvy comes to the rescue, proving that sometimes the best of friends are people never meant to like each other. Vibrant characters and lots of humor make this a charmingand addictiveintroduction to Ivy and Bean.

Find books about:

More books in the series - See All

Other series you might like

Publishers Weekly

Starred Review
Barrows's debut children's book energetically kicks off a series about two seemingly unlikely pals, just right for kids moving on from beginning readers. Bean's mother suggests that she play with Ivy, the new girl across the street, "She seems like such a nice girl." Seven-year-old Bean says she already has plenty of friends ("Nice, Bean knew, is another word for boring"). After all, Ivy's long, curly red hair is neatly pushed back with a sparkly headband, and she always wears dresses and reads books; headband-, dress- and book-shunning tomboy Bean muses that Ivy "had never once in her whole life climbed a tree and fallen out." But when Ivy offers to get Bean out of a jam with her older sister, Nancy, Bean takes Ivy up on it. Bean discovers that the not-so-boring, wand-toting Ivy is in training to become a witch, and working on a spell that keeps its victim dancing for life -which sets Bean thinking about the ideal fate for bossy Nancy. Blackall's ("Ruby's Wish") half-tone spot art and full-spread illustrations deftly capture the girls' personalities and the tale's humor, while also filling out fun details about Ivy's room and the neighbors' backyards. Barrows's narrative brims with sprightly dialogue and tidily ties everything together -both Bean and Ivy find a fast friend and set the stage for "Ivy and Bean and the Ghost that Had to Go", scheduled for the fall. Ages 6-10. "(June)" Copyright 2006 Publishers Weekly Used with permission.

School Library Journal

Gr 1-4 -Seven-year-old Bean likes stomping in puddles, climbing fences into neighbors - backyards, and playing tricks on her older sister, Nancy. She wears dresses as seldom as possible and avoids big books. Her new neighbor appears to be a quiet, orderly girl who sits on her front step day after day reading tomes. The two seem to have nothing in common, and Bean is not interested in getting to know Ivy, despite her mother -s prodding to make friends with the nice girl next door. Then Bean gets into trouble, and Ivy helps her out. She discovers that Ivy is practicing to be a witch, and when they decide to cast a spell on Nancy, their friendship is sealed. With echoes of Beverly Cleary -s -Ramona - series, this easy chapter book will appeal to children who are graduating from beginning readers. The occasional black-and-white illustrations highlight the text and provide visual clues. The characters are appealing, the friendship is well portrayed, and the pranks and adventures are very much on grade level." -Eve Ottenberg Stone, Cooper Lane Elementary, Landover Hills, MD" Copyright 2006 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

In the tradition of Betsy and Tacy, Ginnie and Geneva comes two new friends, Ivy and Bean. Ivy has just moved in across the street from Bean, who wants no part of her. She looks dull, always with a book in her hand. Bean, on the other hand, is a sparkplug, full of tricks, especially when they can be pulled on her older sister Nancy. But the day Bean pulls a trick that goes wrong, and Ivy comes to her rescue, a friendship is born. The deliciousness is in the details here, with both girls drawn distinctly and with flair. Ivy, who at first seems a dud has aspirations to be a witch and put charms on people, which is dangerously intriguing to Bean's spunky way of talking and acting (there's a classic moment when she wiggles her fanny at Nancy) and will make readers giggle. Even with all the text's strong points, what takes the book to a higher level is Blackall's artwork, which captures the girls' spirit. A chapter from the second book in the series, to be published in Fall of 2006 will whet readers' appetites for more Ivy and Bean. -" Booklist, starred review
Annie Barrows
Annie Barrows lives in Northern California with her husband and two daughters. She is also the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

Sophie Blackall is an Australian illustrator whose previous books include Ruby's Wish and Meet Wild Boars. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780811849036
Lexile Measure
580L
Guided Reading Level
M
Publication date
April 20, 2006
Series
Ivy & Bean
Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award
Nominee 2009 - 2009

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!