Rocket Ship, Solo Trip

by Chiara Colombi (Author) Scott Magoon (Illustrator)

Reading Level: K − 1st Grade
A delightful, rhyming picture book that is perfect for fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and captures all the excitement and nervousness of life's big firsts; art by New York Times bestselling illustrator, Scott Magoon!

“First time jitters? That’s okay.
Find one small step to lead the way.”

Rocket is embarking on her first solo mission. Her goal? Place a satellite into orbit to take pictures of the beautiful unknown. With a few words of encouragement from Ground Control, Rocket sparks ignition and blasts off to discover all the beauty of outer space. But when it’s time for reentry, she wonders if she can do it alone. With Ground Control’s parting words in mind, Rocket trusts that she knows exactly what to do. She returns home at hypersonic speed and excited for her future expeditions…maybe next time, to the moon.

With delightful rhyming stanzas, and pictures by New York Times bestselling illustrator Scott Magoon, Rocket Ship, Solo Trip explores all the complicated emotions of big firsts and reminds readers that no matter how far they go, the ones they love are always close by.
Select format:
Hardcover
$18.99

Kirkus Reviews

Blends social-emotional learning and STEM with engaging illustrations for a memorable trip into space.

Review quotes

Little ones trying new things will be encouraged . . . Blends social-emotional learning and STEM with engaging illustrations for a memorable trip into space."—Kirkus Reviews
Chiara Colombi
Chiara Colombi never knew she wanted to be a writer. She was quite confident she would grow up to be an astronaut. In fact, she is still quite confident that she will grow up to be an astronaut. But in the meantime, she enjoys counting her lucky stars and finding words for the countless stories they inspire. She currently lives in California with her family and an open view of the sky. Connect with her online at ChiaraColombi.com.

Scott Magoon is the illustrator of several acclaimed picture books, including the New York Times bestselling Rescue & Jessica: A Life-Changing Friendship by Jessica Kensky & Patrick Downes, the Misunderstood Shark series by Ame Dyckman and the Spoon series by Amy Krouse Rosenthal. He is also the author/illustrator of Linus, The Little Yellow Pencil, Breathe and The Boy Who Cried Bigfoot. He lives in Massachusetts and looks to the stars, wishing space wasn't quite so far. Visit him online at ScottMagoon.com.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780593326930
Lexile Measure
510
Guided Reading Level
-
Publisher
Viking Books for Young Readers
Publication date
February 27, 2024
Series
-
BISAC categories
JUV039090 - Juvenile Fiction | Social Themes | New Experience
JUV039140 - Juvenile Fiction | Social Themes | Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
JUV036010 - Juvenile Fiction | Technology | Astronauts & Space
Library of Congress categories
Self-confidence
Picture books
Stories in rhyme
Outer space
Space ships
Histoires rimaees

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!