A Field Guide to Mermaids

by Emily B Martin (Author)

A Field Guide to Mermaids
Reading Level: 4th – 5th Grade

A magical and lushly illustrated field guide to the mermaids that inhabit our ponds, streams and oceans, based on real ecological details--with a strong environmental focus--perfect for fans of The Magical Unicorn Society series.

A glimmer of fish scales.A splash from a colorful fin. The echo of a mysterious song across the water. . . Few mythical creatures are more instantly recognizable or more mysterious than mermaids. Whether seen perched on a rock at the water's edge or spied only as a dim outline beneath the waves, mermaids have long fascinated sailors, scientists, storytellers, and surprised onlookers alike.

Now, for the first time, thanks to dedicated research and a hint of magic, comes A Field Guide to Mermaids, introducing the many species of mermaids native to the United States. With an eye toward the preservation of our natural habitats, Emily B. Martin shares the never-before-told stories of the mermaids who share our waters in this enchanting and beautifully illustrated guidebook.


Kirkus Reviews

Starred Review
 An indispensable, encyclopedic resource for nature quests--mythological or otherwise.

Review quotes

"Definitively making the point that mermaids can be found anywhere there is water—even a little, or for a little while—Martin depicts dozens of types, each linked to a specific (real) locale and arranged by their favored habitats, from deep ocean abyssal zones to shallow desert pools, hot springs to swimming pools. . .Moreover, enlightening discussions of mermaid behaviors and environmental concerns mingle with general questions and activities suitable for any encounters with nature . . . An indispensable, encyclopedic resource for nature quests—mythological or otherwise." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Emily B Martin
Emily B. Martin splits her time between working as a park ranger and an author/illustrator, resulting in her characteristic eco-fantasy adventures. An avid hiker and explorer, her experiences as a ranger help inform the characters and worlds she creates on paper. Her books include Woodwalker, Ashes to Fire, and Creatures of Light. When not patrolling places like Yellowstone, the Great Smoky Mountains, or Philmont Scout Ranch, she lives in South Carolina with her husband, Will, and two daughters, Lucy and Amelia.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781250794321
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Henry Holt & Company
Publication date
September 20, 2022
Series
-
BISAC categories
JUV037000 - Juvenile Fiction | Fantasy & Magic
JUV029010 - Juvenile Fiction | Nature & the Natural World | Environment
JUV066000 - Juvenile Fiction | Mermaids
Library of Congress categories
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!