Ride on

by Faith Erin Hicks (Author)

Ride on
Reading Level: 4th – 5th Grade

In Ride On, this middle grade graphic novel from Faith Erin Hicks, twelve-year-old Victoria is burned out from the high-pressure world or riding competitions. Can she get back to basics and rekindle her love of horses?

Perfect for fans of Best Friends and Stargazing!

Victoria has always loved horses. But riding in competitions is high stakes, high stress, and shockingly expensive. And even though Victoria's best friend Taylor loves competing, Victoria has lost her taste for it. After a heartbreaking fight with Taylor, Victoria needs a new start--at a new stables. A place where she doesn't have to worry about anything other than riding. No competition, no drama, no friends. Just horses. Edgewood Stables seems ideal. There are plenty of horses to ride, and Victoria is perfectly happy giving the other riders the cold shoulder. But can she truly be happy with no friends?


School Library Journal

Starred Review

Gr 5-8--After a fight with her best friend, Victoria leaves fancy Waverly Stables for lower key Edgewood, where her plan is to focus on riding, not friendship. She rebuffs unofficial assistant barn manager Norrie's warm welcome, infuriating Norrie, who tries to get her best friend Hazel and "the only boy," Sam, to shun Victoria too. But when Victoria discovers that all three of them are fans of an old sci-fi show called Beyond the Galaxy, she apologizes to Norrie and becomes friends with all three--and explains her behavior. Vic's ex-best friend Taylor gave her the cold shoulder when Victoria said she loved horses but no longer wanted to compete--partly because of the expense, which her family couldn't afford. Hicks uses flashbacks effectively to show what happened between Victoria and Taylor, as well as Victoria's parents' divorce. Secondary characters, including horse friends and siblings, are well developed with different personalities, interests, and problems of their own. The Edgewood friends support one another, and through good listening and wise advice, they make one another braver. There is also something romantic simmering between Victoria and Sam, but it's mostly eye contact and blushes. Norrie and Sam have brown skin and dark hair; Hazel and Victoria have light skin and freckles. Three to five panels per page, often horizontal to accommodate the horses, result in passages with excellent pacing. VERDICT A "perfect ride" of a graphic novel that shows that there really is something special about horse friends.--Jenny Arch

Copyright 2022 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Kirkus

Combines sensitive character exploration with horses: a blue-ribbon winner. 

Review quotes

Hold on to your horses, because this book will be flying off the shelves!— Jennifer L. Holm, NY Times-bestselling author and co-creator of Sunny Side Up

A charming, satisfying and relatable read. I loved spending time with every one of the characters. — Hope Larson, author of All Summer Long

Ride On is a heartfelt coming-of-age story that will be treasured by any horse lover. Faith Erin Hicks has made a beautiful graphic novel about facing your fears, making friends, and following your heart. —Kristen Gudsnuk, author of Making Friends.

Hicks gives her uncommon depth, thanks to multifaceted and distinctive characters, nuanced conversations about passion and privilege, and heartening emotional growth. A solid, well-wrought comic for fans of character-driven stories and, naturally, anyone obsessed with riding horses. —Booklist, starred review

Featuring funny dialogue and Hicks's signature art—including sharply rendered horses in motion—this attentively layered, low-stakes graphic novel is told with an insider's understanding of both stable culture and fandom. —Publisher's Weekly, starred review 

Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781250772817
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
N/A
Publication date
August 20, 2022
Series
-
BISAC categories
JUV039060 - Juvenile Fiction | Social Themes | Friendship
JUV002130 - Juvenile Fiction | Animals | Horses
JUV032090 - Juvenile Fiction | Sports & Recreation | Equestrian
JUV008050 - Juvenile Fiction | Comics & Graphic Novels | Animals
Library of Congress categories
Friendship
Comics (Graphic works)
Horsemanship
Animal fiction
Stablehands

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!