Blippo and Beep (Blippo and Beep #1)

by Sarah Weeks (Author) Joey Ellis (Illustrator)

Reading Level: K − 1st Grade
Series: Blippo and Beep
Knock-knock. Who's there? Blippo and Beep! Blippo and Beep are a pair of silly robot friends. While Blippo is good-natured and eager, Beep is a bit more serious and practical. But when they start to share knock-knock jokes with each other, Blippo doesn't really understand how they work, and Beep begins to run out of patience! Exciting, easy-to-read books are the stepping stone a young reader needs to bridge the gap between being a beginner and being fluent.

Find books about:

More books in the series - See All

School Library Journal

PreS-Gr 1--This first book in a new series introduces Blippo and Beep, a dynamic duo of friendly robots. Beep tries to tell knock-knock jokes to Blippo, who is unfamiliar with the format. Blippo answers, "Come in!" to Beep's first attempt at a joke. When Beep is finally successful in delivering the joke, Blippo doesn't fully understand the humor. But he goes on to learn how to tell his own kind of joke to make his friend laugh. The story is told using short speech bubbles for the dialogue between Blippo and Beep. Ellis adds clever details in the bright illustrations, such as a question mark on Blippo's stomach when he is confused, a smiley face when he is happy, and an exclamation point when he is excited. The entire book is illustrated using only five colors: white, black, blue, purple, and yellow. Weeks has created two likable robots, one more serious than the other, but both eager to make the other happy. VERDICT Fans of Mo Willems's "Elephant & Piggie" series will enjoy this book that follows a similar pattern with different characters.--Heidi Dechief

Copyright 2022 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes



Sarah Weeks
Sarah Weeks (she/her) has written more than sixty picture books and novels for young readers, including Mrs. McNosh Hangs Up Her Wash, Mac and Cheese, Pie, and So B It. In addition to writing, she teaches writing workshops for adults and children. For more information about Sarah and her books, please visit her at www.sarahweeks.com and on Twitter @authorweeks.

Joey Ellis (he/him) graduated from East Carolina University in 2002 and has been a professional designer and illustrator since. His clients include Disney, ESPN, the NFL, ABC News, Facebook, Scholastic, Sports Illustrated Kids, Highlights Magazine, Boys Life, Marvel, PBS Kids, and many others. Joey lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, with his wife and two sons.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780593226971
Lexile Measure
260L
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Penguin Workshop
Publication date
May 20, 2022
Series
Blippo and Beep

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!