To Make

by Danielle Davis (Author) Mags Deroma (Illustrator)

To Make
Reading Level: K − 1st Grade

A stunning picture book ode to the joys of the creative process and the spirit of collaboration. This lyrical story from Danielle Davis and Mags DeRoma is perfect for fans of Kevin Henkes, Gyo Fujikawa, and Julie Fogliano.

To make . . . a cake, a garden, a song, you first gather, then make--and wait. To make a story (like this one), you gather, make, wait. To make anything--big or small--it will take some time. You may have to gather more, make more, and wait a little more, but you can create wonderful things if you just gather, make, and wait. This gorgeous, timeless book gently emphasizes patience as part of the making process and is a fitting book for all homes, classrooms, and makerspaces everywhere.


Booklist

Sure to inspire all sorts of creativity.

Publisher's Weekly

In this expansive look at process, Davis asserts that there are three steps common to creation: "gather, make, wait." A cake requires gathering a tower of ingredients, making them into a swirling mélange, and then waiting while it bakes. A friendship involves assembling materials, crafting a home for a bird, and watchfully awaiting a feathered being’s taking up residence. DeRoma’s mixed-media illustrations employ velvety pastel and pencil textures to conjure a visual feast, portraying a cast of arrayed abilities and skin tones engaging in varied creative pursuits, assisted by fairies and a friendly gnome. As the figures contemplate making a garden, music, and a story, among other things, pictures frame the concept of creativity and how it rewards the effort (and frustration) invested in it. As the final pages show the characters enjoying a joyful moonlit celebration, readers are urged to "keep making.// Keep waiting.// Because one day you will share something wonderful// that only you know how to make." Ages 4-8. 

Copyright 2022 Publisher’s Weekly, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes



Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780063084063
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Katherine Tegen Books
Publication date
May 20, 2022
Series
-
BISAC categories
JUV051000 - Juvenile Fiction | Imagination & Play
JUV003000 - Juvenile Fiction | Art & Architecture
JUV031000 - Juvenile Fiction | Performing Arts | General
JUV036020 - Juvenile Fiction | Technology | Inventions
Library of Congress categories
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!