The Invisible Whale (Crab and Snail #1)

by Beth Ferry (Author) Jared Chapman (Illustrator)

The Invisible Whale (Crab and Snail #1)
Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade
Series: Crab and Snail

Join Crab and Snail in the surf zone, where they think deep thoughts and have unforgettable seaside adventures, in this graphic early reader series debut by New York Times bestselling author Beth Ferry and beloved illustrator Jared Chapman.

The never-ending rain is putting a damper on Crab and Snail's plans for a sunny, funny day. So when the BBFs (Best Beach Friends) realize that it's only raining on them, they put their heads together and consult one know-it-all gull (he really does know it all!) to get to the bottom of it. By the time the rain clears, the duo will have made a new friend and learned something new and wonderful about friendship!

Crab and Snail are everyone's next favorite characters in the graphic early reader space. Fans of Narwhal & Jelly; Pea, Bee, & Jay; and Arlo & Pips will love these quirky characters and clever stories.

A character-based volume that reads like a cross between SpongeBob SquarePants and The Muppet Show.--Publishers Weekly (starred review)


More books in the series - See All

Publishers Weekly

Starred Review

This inaugural title in a graphic novel series introduces two "best beach friends" who inhabit the surf zone--the definition of which is one of several bits of marine trivia worked into the story. When Crab and Salty Snail suddenly find themselves in a strange downpour (they're the only ones getting wet), the Know-It-All gull reveals that the source is spray from an inexplicably invisible whale named Isabel, who wants to be their friend. ("I feel sparkly inside," says Crab, when the group successfully connects via a Super Smile.) Chapman's (Vegetables in Underwear) crisp, minimalist line art is well paced to amplify the comic timing of Ferry's (Swashby and the Sea) dialogue, creating a character-based volume that reads like a cross between SpongeBob SquarePants and The Muppet Show: there's a passel of adorably goofy marine characters, lots of snappy repartee, and even a wisecracking chorus in the form of two barnacle brothers. All the pieces are in place for a promising run. Final art not seen by PW. Ages 6-10. Author's agent: Elena Giovinazzo, Pippin Properties. Illustrator's agent: Rebecca Sherman, Writers House. (Mar.)

Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

A character-based volume that reads like a cross between SpongeBob SquarePants and The Muppet Show: there's a passel of adorably goofy marine characters, lots of snappy repartee, and even a wisecracking chorus in the form of two barnacle brothers. —Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Beth Ferry
Beth Ferry loves to wander, explore, and mainly laze on the shore, but only in the summer. She enjoyed writing Stick and Stone so much that she's decided to stick with writing picture books. She lives with her husband and three children by the beach in Allenwood, New Jersey. Tom Lichtenheld is the illustrator of New York Times bestsellers Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site and Shark vs. Train. He lives in Geneva, Illinois. Visit his website at www.tomlichtenheld.com.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780062962140
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Harperalley
Publication date
March 20, 2022
Series
Crab and Snail
BISAC categories
JUV039060 - Juvenile Fiction | Social Themes | Friendship
JUV045000 - Juvenile Fiction | Readers | Chapter Books
JUV002170 - Juvenile Fiction | Animals | Marine Life
JUV008110 - Juvenile Fiction | Comics & Graphic Novels | Humorous
JUV008050 - Juvenile Fiction | Comics & Graphic Novels | Animals
Library of Congress categories
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!