Construction Site: Spring Delight (Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site Young Reader Edition)

by Sherri Duskey Rinker (Author) Ag Ford (Illustrator)

Construction Site: Spring Delight (Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site Young Reader Edition)

Celebrate the coming of spring with the construction crew from the bestselling Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site series!

It's Easter at the construction site! As sunshine melts the snow away, the trucks discover all around them the signs of spring. Lift the flaps on each sturdy page to reveal blooming flowers, baby ducks, and gentle lambs--and a special Easter egg hunt surprise! With bestselling author Sherri Duskey Rinker's lovable rhyming text and heartwarming illustrations by AG Ford, this interactive Easter tale will bring smiles to truck lovers and their families while celebrating the beauty of spring.

LIFT THE FLAPS: Seven sturdy flaps throughout encourage interactive reading and help little ones develop fine motor skills. Kids will love guessing what springtime surprise hides behind every flap!

FAMILIAR FRIENDS: This book features the same beloved trucks and construction site from the original Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site

BESTSELLING TEAM: This heartwarming holiday story comes from the bestselling team behind Construction Site on Christmas Night and Three Cheers for Kid McGear!

A GREAT READ-ALOUD: Sherri Duskey Rinker's energetic rhymes make for a satisfying read-aloud experience, keeping construction-loving kids engaged all the way through.

INTRODUCTION TO EASTER: Newborns celebrating their first Easter will love this interactive introduction to the spring season and the fun of Easter traditions.

Perfect for:

- Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site

- Truck and construction fans

- Parents looking for an interactive read-aloud experience

- Easter shoppers and gift-givers

- Fans of lift-the-flap books

Select format:
Hardcover
$12.99

More books in the series - See All

Kirkus Reviews

A new addition to the Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site board-book series celebrates spring's arrival, and Easter's too. . . . A winsome board book that highlights both the work of construction crews and the work of nature.

School Library Journal

Toddler-PreS--Rinker and Ford bring to life the world of the construction site in this lift-the-flap board book. It's Spring, and the trusty machines are back in operation--Excavator, Dump Truck, and Cement Mixer get busy. When Crane Truck "grabs a load, then lifts his boom," Mama and baby ducks swim by from behind the reeds. Honk! Honk! call the trucks. Quack! Quack! reply the ducklings. As Skid Steer pushes with her blade, baby robins sing in a nearby tree. Signs of Spring are everywhere; tulips are in bloom, and rabbits and lambs frolic as the busy machines clear and haul. Rhyming text combines the workings of a building site with the natural world. Readers learn the function of each truck and lift the flap to find baby animals and spring flowers. When Excavator digs, "dirt starts to fly! Two little lambs look on nearby." The youngest readers will quickly pick up on the sing-song rhyming text and predict the surprise under each flap. Cheerful illustrations show friendly, tough machines with wide grins and determined expressions. Plenty of details provide the opportunity for little ones to pore over and discover something new with repeated readings. The final scene has the trucks and their new friends join in an Easter egg hunt. VERDICT Perfect for very young readers with a fascination for all things vehicular.--Sarah Webb

Copyright 2022 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes



Sherri Duskey Rinker
Sherri Duskey Rinker is the author of many bestsellers including, Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site; Steam Train, Dream Train; Mighty, Mighty Construction Site; Construction Site on Christmas Night; Construction Site: Three Cheers for Kid McGear!; Construction Site Mission: Demolition!; and Construction Site: Road Crew, Coming Through! Sherri lives with her photographer husband and two sons in the Chicago area.

AG Ford, a recipient of the NAACP Image Award, has illustrated many award-winning books for children, including The New York Times bestsellers Construction Site on Christmas Night; Construction Site: Three Cheers for Kid McGear!; Construction Site Mission: Demolition!; and Construction Site: Road Crew, Coming Through! He lives in Dallas, Texas.

AG Ford, a recipient of the NAACP Image Award, has illustrated many award-winning books for children, including The New York Times bestsellers Construction Site on Christmas Night; Construction Site: Three Cheers for Kid McGear!; Construction Site Mission: Demolition!; and Construction Site: Road Crew, Coming Through! He lives in Dallas, Texas.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781797204314
Lexile Measure
-
Guided Reading Level
-
Publisher
Chronicle Books
Publication date
March 15, 2022
Series
Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site Young Reader Edition
BISAC categories
JUV041030 - Juvenile Fiction | Transportation | Cars & Trucks
JUV017020 - Juvenile Fiction | Holidays & Celebrations | Easter & Lent
Library of Congress categories
Toy and movable books
Stories in rhyme
Board books
Easter
Lift-the-flap books
Construction equipment

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!