Swim, Jim!

by Kaz Windness (Author) Kaz Windness (Illustrator)

Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade

Jim the crocodile finds the courage to face his fear of swimming in this funny and charming debut picture book for fans of Jabari Jumps and Jean Reidy's Truman!

Jim the crocodile is scared of swimming--or rather, of sinking. His family's swamp is just too deep, too dark, and too big. But maybe he could swim, if only there were a smaller swamp where he could try it on his own terms. Jim wiggle-waggles far and wide until he finds the perfect place. With the help of some floaties and his sisters, Jim just might find the courage to face his fear and show everyone--including himself--that Jim can swim!


Publisher's Weekly

A comically confident children’s debut with a veteran’s sense of timing and character...with an admirably light touch and assured mixed-media art.
Kaz Windness
Kaz Windness is an author-illustrator who loves to make her readers laugh. When she's not writing or illustrating books, Kaz teaches illustration at the Rocky Mountain College of Art + Design and enjoys making deep-dish pizza. Kaz lives in Denver, Colorado, with her husband, two children, and Boston terrier. Swim, Jim! is her first picture book. She also created the Level 1 Ready-to-Read Graphics Worm and Caterpillar Are Friends. Visit her at WindnessBooks.com.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781534483439
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Publication date
May 20, 2022
Series
-
BISAC categories
JUV039090 - Juvenile Fiction | Social Themes | New Experience
JUV032060 - Juvenile Fiction | Sports & Recreation | Water Sports
JUV002010 - Juvenile Fiction | Animals | Alligators & Crocodiles
Library of Congress categories
Brothers and sisters
Fear
Swimming
Crocodiles

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!