Missed Meal Mayhem (The Hunger Heroes #1)

by Jarrett Lerner (Author) Jarrett Lerner (Illustrator)

Reading Level: K − 1st Grade
A group of silly superheroes--a bean, a chip, a tomato, and a wedge of cheddar cheese--come to the rescue of a hungry kid stuck at school in this first book in the silly and adventurous graphic novel chapter book series The Hunger Heroes! Meet the Hunger Heroes: Toots the Bean, Chip Ninja, Tammy the Tomato, and Leonard, a wedge of cheddar cheese, ready to save kids--even cranky, annoying ones--all over the world while flying around in their taco hovercraft! It's a typical Monday when the Hunger Heroes get the call: a kid in Ms. Sternbladder's class missed breakfast and isn't allowed to have snacks! How will he pass his math test, study for spelling, or play soccer at recess if his stomach is growling out of control? Hunger Heroes to the rescue!

School Library Journal

K-Gr 3--The Hunger Heroes are a group of taco ingredient superheroes who rescue people suffering from hunger. There's a bold bean named Mr. Toots; Chip Ninja, who's armed with gadgets; Tammy, a tamale who loves to sing; and Leonard, a nervous piece of cheese. When an elementary school student named Jason misses breakfast on the day of a big math test, the heroes head to his elementary school to help him get back on track. Bathroom humor and over-the-top antics abound in this colorful graphic novel. The text is large with plenty of white space in the speech boxes, making it accessible even for emerging readers. Some of the more complex vocabulary is explained, and the illustrations effectively support and help provide context. The graphics are bright and cartoonish; Jason is brown-skinned, and the other humans pictured are racially diverse. The humor will appeal to the age demographic, with plenty of food and fart jokes to go around. The ending leaves the door open for more adventures of this taco crew. VERDICT Fans of Andy Griffiths and Dav Pilkey will enjoy this zany graphic novel.--Ellen Conlin, Naperville P.L., IL

Copyright 2021 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.
Jarrett Lerner
Jarrett Lerner lives with his family in Massachusetts. You can visit him online at JarrettLerner.com and find him on Twitter and Instagram @Jarrett_Lerner.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781534462823
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publication date
November 20, 2021
Series
The Hunger Heroes

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!