Where Three Oceans Meet

by Rajani Larocca (Author) Archana Sreenivasan (Illustrator)

Where Three Oceans Meet
Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade

A child, mother, and grandmother travel all the way to the end of the earth in this picture book that celebrates multigenerational love--perfect for fans of Drawn Together and Alma.

"I want to see what's at the end of the earth!" Sejal, Mommy, and Pati travel together to the southern tip of India. Along the way, they share meals, visit markets, and catch up with old friends. For Pati, the trip retraces spaces she knows well. For Mommy, it's a return to the place she grew up. For Sejal, it's a discovery of new sights and sounds. The family finds their way to Kanyakumari, where three oceans meet, and delight in making it to the end of the earth together. This own voices picture book celebrates the beauty of India and the enduring love of family.


Find books about:

Publishers Weekly

Inspired by the author's memory of a similar childhood trip, this picture book follows brown-skinned Sejal as she goes on a family trek across India to Kanyakumari, "the very tip of India, where three oceans meet." She travels alongside her bespectacled mother, who lives with Sejal in America, and Sejal's gray-haired pati, who lives in India. Employing the first-person perspective, LaRocca subtly acknowledges cultural differences between generations as the trio packs: nine-yard-long silk saris for Pati, bright six-yard-long saris for Mommy, and "T-shirts and jeans, and langas and blouses for dressing up" for Sejal. The telling also engages the sensory details of their travels as the trio visit relatives, temples, and street vendors across India ("In the hot afternoon, we sip water straight from tender green coconuts with their tops sliced off"), richly accompanied by Sreenivasan's digital art, which offers animation-style figures against vibrant backgrounds ripe with detail. A satisfyingly poignant close against expansive views from Kanyakumari concludes this warm intergenerational tale, which emphasizes how love transcends distance and endures across continents. Back matter includes author's and illustrator's notes. Ages 4-8. (Aug.)

Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

"A celebration of intergenerational, border-crossing love. . ." — "Kirkus Reviews"
Rajani Larocca
Rajani LaRocca es médica y amante de los libros y de la buena comida. Nació en India, se crio en
Kentucky y actualmente vive en el área de Boston. Su primera novela para niños de 8 a 12 años, Midsummer's Mayhem, es una mezcla de Sueño de una noche de verano con cocina competitiva, enfocada en la cultura indoamericana. www.rajanilarocca.com

Rajani LaRocca is a book lover, doctor, and foodie who was born in India, raised in Kentucky, and now lives in the Boston area. Her debut middle-grade novel, Midsummer's Mayhem, is an Indian American middle-grade mashup of A Midsummer Night's Dream and competitive baking.

Chaaya Prabhat es diseñadora gráfica, ilustradora y rotuladora.
Obtuvo su maestría en diseño gráfico en Savannah College of Art and
Design. Vive y trabaja en Chennai, India.
www.chaayaprabhat.com

Chaaya Prabhat is a graphic designer, illustrator and lettering artist. She holds an MA in graphic design from Savannah College of Art and Design. She lives and works in Chennai, India. www.chaayaprabhat.com
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781419741296
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Harry N. Abrams
Publication date
August 20, 2021
Series
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!