Stoop Sale Treasure (Hand-Me-Down Magic #1)

by Corey Ann Haydu (Author) Luisa Uribe (Illustrator)

Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade

Meet the best friends at 86 1/2 Twenty-Third Avenue.

DEL loves LOTS of things! The Curious Cousins Secondhand Shoppe. Ginormous family dinners. And of course, her best-friend-cousin, Alma.

ALMA loves her abuelita's tasty empanadas. Her old home by the lake. And soon, she'll love living in the same place as her best-friend-cousin, Del. Yet despite having Del by her side, Alma isn't quite sure she fits in with their family at 86 1/2 Twenty-Third Avenue. It's a new life and it's all so different. When Del finds a special item at a neighbor's stoop sale, she gets so excited by the magic luck it brings--but doesn't see that it's driving the two best friends apart. Will family, friendship, and maybe a little everyday magic be enough to make things right again?

Brimming with adorable illustrations and short, easy-to-read chapters, this is sure to be an instant favorite for fans of Ivy and Bean and Dory Fantasmagory!

Select format:
Paperback
$5.99

More books in the series - See All

Booklist

A transitional chapter book with unusual depth, good pacing, and a loving, supportive Latinx family.

School Library Journal

Gr 2-5--Best friends and cousins Alma and Del are excited that Alma's family has moved to be closer. Living together with their abuelita and extended family is going to be so much better than just visiting. The more Del tries to catch Alma up on all the things she needs to know about their neighborhood, the more Alma feels out of place and begins to miss her old lakeside house. When the girls find a pair of "magic" earrings at a stoop sale, the discovery tests their friendship for the first time. This series debut is a sweet tale about friendship, family, and being the new kid on the block. The chapters alternate between Alma's and Del's perspectives. The line-drawing illustrations throughout give a glimpse of the street where the girls live, the magic earrings, and some of the foods, like empanadas and gofio. VERDICT A good fit for larger collections. Put this book in the hands of kids who enjoy series like Annie Barrows's "Ivy and Bean" or Megan McDonald's "Judy Moody."--Kristin Williamson, Metropolitan Library System, Oklahoma

Copyright 2020 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes



Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780062878250
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Katherine Tegen Books
Publication date
June 20, 2020
Series
Hand-Me-Down Magic
BISAC categories
JUV039060 - Juvenile Fiction | Social Themes | Friendship
JUV013000 - Juvenile Fiction | Family | General
JUV045000 - Juvenile Fiction | Readers | Chapter Books
Library of Congress categories
Grandmothers
Magic
Cousins
Best friends
Puerto Rican families
Secondhand trade
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, 12/01/19

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!