Swatch: The Girl Who Loved Color

by Julia Denos (Author) Julia Denos (Illustrator)

Swatch: The Girl Who Loved Color
Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade

A vibrant picture book featuring an irrepressible new character--perfect for fans of The Dot and Beautiful Oops!--from acclaimed illustrator Julia Denos.

In a place where color ran wild, there lived a girl who was wilder still. Her name was Swatch, and color was her passion. From brave green to in-between gray to rumble-tumble pink . . . Swatch wanted to collect them all. But colors don't always like to be tamed. . .

This is an exuberant celebration of all the beauty and color that make up our lives.--Publishers Weekly


Kirkus Reviews

Starred Review

But Yellowest Yellow, the last uncaptured color, shines bright on a sidewalk flower; they converse, and Swatch remembers about freedom. For color wranglers and windblown spirits everywhere. (Picture book. 4-7).

Copyright 2016 Kirkus Reviews, LLC Used with permission.

School Library Journal

In this beautifully illustrated picture book, children are introduced to the idea that wild things should be wild. Readers follow the title character, Swatch, as she catches and tames hues. With surrealist imagery and swirling colors, the artwork draws readers in. The message underlying the stunning images asks kids to consider how we should treat wild things. While the text is at times moralizing, the balance of the overall work is excellent. The pace at which the story unfolds is quick enough to keep children's attention while slow enough to beg the pondering of the work's larger themes. The high-quality value and gradation of the color pull children into Swatch's world. While the text at times seems to jump across the page, it generally adds to the tone. This is also a wonderful choice for vocabulary building. The composition and flow allow the pictures to shine, while gently pushing readers forward. VERDICT The gorgeous illustrations are enough to recommend this title, but the sweet message makes it a must-read; a great read-aloud.—Lauren Lancaster, Crafton Public Library, Pittsburgh

Copyright 2016 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes

"The gorgeous illustrations are enough to recommend this title, but the sweet message makes it a must-read; a great read-aloud."—School Library Journal
Julia Denos
Julia Denos is also the author-illustrator of Swatch: The Girl Who Loved Color, her author-illustrator debut, which was a 2016 ALA Notable selection. She is the illustrator of Margaret Cardillo's Just Being Audrey, and Just Being Jackie, as well as I Had a Favorite Dress, by Boni Ashburn. While Julia loves to illustrate, her current focus is on honing her writing craft.
www.juliadenos.com
Twitter: @JuliaDraw
Instagram: @juliadenos

E. B. Goodale is the illustrator of Windows, written by Julia Denos, A Most Unusual Day, written by Sydra Mallery, and Richard Jackson's A Kiss for Akaraka.
www.ebgoodale.com
Instagram: @ebgoodale

Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780062366382
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publication date
March 20, 2016
Series
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!