Holding On

by Sophia N Lee (Author) Isabel Roxas (Illustrator)

Holding On
Reading Level: K − 1st Grade
A young girl in the Philippines uses music to connect with her grandmother as her memory fades in this warm and moving picture book perfect for fans of Pixar's Coco. There is always singing in Lola's house. Sammy Davis Jr. in the morning, Dean Martin in the afternoon, and all throughout the evening, old Tagalog love songs from Nora Aunor, Basil Valdez, and more. Lola always says: "If you want to hold on, you gotta sing your songs." Her granddaughter tucks these sounds and Lola's wisdom deep within her heart. And when Lola starts slipping into silence and stillness, she helps Lola hold on, piece by piece, with the joy and music that Lola taught her.

Find books about:

Publishers Weekly

A Filipina child visits Lola, their grandmother, seasonally in the Philippines, where summers "are filled with so much music. Frank Sinatra and Sammy Davis Jr. in the morning. Ella Fitzgerald and Dean Martin in the afternoon. And in the evening, all the Tagalog love songs I can think of." In the winters when they are apart, the child narrator considers how Lola "holds on" to memories tied to beloved objects ("the old pictures I drew") and rituals (cooking "rice with adobo and mashing bananas to make each bite just a little bit sweeter"). And when they're together, "I listen to her stories and remember with her." When Lola's memory begins to fade, the narrator, too, clings to memory by singing the songs Lola passed on: "I'll hold on to all that she has taught me, and carry it with me in my heart," writes Lee (Soaring Saturdays) in gentle prose. Mixed-media illustrations by Roxas (Squid Happens), awash in saturated greens and blues with bright orange and yellow splashes, incorporate a motif of musical notes into images of familial intimacy across time, reinforcing the message of embracing unwavering love through music and memory. Ages 4-8. Author's agent: Wendi Gu, Sanford J. Greenburger Assoc. Illustrator's agent: Elena Giovinazzo, Pippin Properties. (Aug.)

Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly, LLC Used with permission.
Sophia N Lee
Sophia N. Lee grew up in the Philippines. She wanted to be many things growing up: doctor, teacher, ballerina, ninja, crime-fighting international spy, wizard, time traveler, journalist, and lawyer. She likes to think she can be all these things and more through writing. She looks a lot like her lola Benita, but she inherited her love for writing from her lola Josefina, who worked as a principal and an English teacher. She is the author of Soaring Saturdays; What Things Mean, which won a Scholastic Asian Book Award's grand prize; and Holding On. Learn more about her at SophiaLeeWrites.com.

Isabel Roxas is the author-illustrator of The Adventures of Team Pom: Squid Happens. She was born in the Philippines and raised on luscious mangoes, old wives' tales, and monsoon moons. She learned so much from her lolas Fe and Venancia: how to shine the floor with a coconut, navigate a palengke (wet market), and make a scrumptious bowl of ginataan. Learn more about Isabel online at StudioRoxas.com or on Instagram @StudioRoxas.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781534494459
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication date
August 20, 2022
Series
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!