Kind Like Marsha: Learning from LGBTQ+ Leaders

by Sarah Prager (Author) Cheryl Thuesday (Illustrator)

Kind Like Marsha: Learning from LGBTQ+ Leaders
Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade

For fans of Little Leaders and Pride comes a nonfiction picture book celebrating 14 incredible LGBTQ+ change makers and forward thinkers throughout history.

Kind Like Marsha celebrates 14 amazing and inspirational LGBTQ+ people throughout history. Fan favorites like Harvey Milk, Sylvia Rivera, and Audre Lorde are joined by the likes of Leonardo da Vinci, Frida Kahlo, and more in this striking collection. With a focus on a positive personality attribute of each of the historical figures, readers will be encouraged to be brave like the Ugandan activist fighting for LGBTQ+ rights against all odds and to be kind like Marsha P. Johnson who took care of her trans community on the New York City streets.

Select format:
Hardcover
$17.99

Kirkus Reviews

A celebratory book that’s useful for teaching young children about diverse historical figures. 

Booklist

A fine introduction for young readers to the LGBTQ+ world and to some of its significant leaders.

Review quotes

 
Sarah Prager
Sarah Prager is the author of Queer, There, and Everywhere: 23 People Who Changed the World and Rainbow Revolutionaries: 50 LGBTQ+ People Who Made History. She came out as lesbian when she was fourteen and feels grateful for her extended LGBTQ+ family and loves telling the stories of our shared history. She's written for the New York Times, National Geographic, The Atlantic, and many other publications about LGBTQ+ topics. Sarah lives with her wife and two children in Massachusetts.

Cheryl "Ras" Thuesday is an illustrator originally from London and who grew up in New Jersey. Her illustrations are heavily influenced by her Caribbean and Asian heritage and she's created artwork for various worldwide publications and companies. Cheryl lives in the Tri State area.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780762475001
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Running Press Kids
Publication date
August 20, 2022
Series
-
BISAC categories
BIO000000 - Biography & Autobiography | General
Library of Congress categories
Sexual minorities
LGBT people

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!