Churro and the Magician

by Gastón Caba (Author)

Reading Level: K − 1st Grade

A mischievous bunny accidentally unleashes magic on the town after discovering a magician's wand in this vibrant and humorous wordless picture book with graphic-novel panels. Perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly.

Churro is a bunny with a big imagination. And sometimes, it gets Churro in trouble. After missing the school bus one day, Churro discovers a magic wand that a magician left behind. Now Churro's bad day just got a little more fun. But not for everyone in town! With the help of new friends, Churro must learn to use creativity and the magician's wand to help fix the town's magical new problems. Filled with colorful illustrations and featuring the hilarious adventure of a fun-loving bunny with one wild imagination, this wordless picture book with graphic-novel panels will have readers laughing out loud and writing their own version of events as they join Churro on a journey to save the town.


Kirkus Reviews

Goofy hijinks for the new-to-comics crowd.

Booklist

The plot, although simple, veers into surrealism and requires its reader to use sequencing skills to keep up, and the panels provide fun clues, their gutters creating built-in anticipation for the magic reveals.

School Library Journal

PreS-Gr 2--In this wordless graphic novel, a young bunny named Churro misses the school bus one morning and instead has a magical adventure. He finds a magic wand near the bus stop and walks through town waving it. Readers will laugh as he transforms a skyscraper into a gigantic chest of drawers and a train becomes a huge centipede. But the other residents of the town are not amused, and neither is the wand's true owner, who sees television coverage of the havoc Churro has caused and sets out to reclaim his wand and repair the town. The wordless format allows young readers to imagine their own version of the story; they may want to describe the action, predict what will happen next, add dialogue for the various characters, or even provide sound effects. Illustrations use cheerful pastel colors, with a few darker accents and the magician's black suit for contrast. Characters' expressions make their reactions to events clear despite the lack of text, and the flow of the story line is easy to follow. VERDICT An entertaining story for readers transitioning from picture books into graphic novels.--Suzanne Costner, Fairview Elem. Sch., Maryville, TN

Copyright 2021 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Review quotes



Gastón Caba
Gastón Caba is an editorial and commercial illustrator. He teaches at Domestika and is a contributor for DOT magazine. He lives in Calahorra, Spain. gastoncaba.com, Twitter: @gatocaba, Instagram: @gastoncaba.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780358467731
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publisher
Clarion Books
Publication date
February 20, 2022
Series
-
BISAC categories
JUV002210 - Juvenile Fiction | Animals | Rabbits
JUV051000 - Juvenile Fiction | Imagination & Play
JUV037000 - Juvenile Fiction | Fantasy & Magic
JUV008110 - Juvenile Fiction | Comics & Graphic Novels | Humorous
JUV008050 - Juvenile Fiction | Comics & Graphic Novels | Animals
Library of Congress categories
Rabbits
Magic
Graphic novels
Comics (Graphic works)
Humorous comics
Funny animal comics
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, 12/01/21

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!