A New Sheriff in Town (Zoo Patrol Squad #3)

by Brett Bean (Author) Brett Bean (Illustrator)

Reading Level: 2nd − 3rd Grade
Crack the case with the Zoo Patrol Squad in this series of fun graphic novels for young readers filled with zany animals, wild adventures, and unbelievable mysteries. Perfect for fans of Dogman and InvestiGators! Fennlock Fox and Penny the Pig head to the Wild, Wild West! When a chatty chicken named Nugget makes it to the zoo to beg for help ridding his little Western town of a gang of feral cats, the Zoo Patrol Squad is on the case. But when they get there, the sheriff is missing, and no one can seem to find any of the townsfolk. Will Penny and Fennlock be able to save the town, or will the dastardly Glaring Gang have the last meow?

More books in the series - See All

School Library Journal

Gr 3-5--Fennlock Fox and Penny the Pig are summoned by a chicken named Nugget to help the town of Harmony Plains, which is overrun by a gang of feral cats. Penny is nervous about returning to her hometown, as she and her former best friend parted on bad terms. But she's determined to save the town with Fennlock. Thus begins a strange, fast-paced adventure that will force them to use their wits and rely on their allies. Bean's artwork is cartoony and colorful, and it is filled with engaging sight gags. The book works on two levels, as an exciting journey and a deeper story about teamwork, trust, and repairing broken friendships. Readers need not have read the other books in the series to appreciate this one. VERDICT A fast and funny story with heart for young readers eager to jump into the world of graphic novels.--Andrea Lipinski, New York P.L., New York City

Copyright 2021 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.
Brett Bean
Brett Bean has created art for TV, film, games, and books for clients such as Nickelodeon, Disney TV, Leapfrog, and Nerd Corps. He is working on his fifth art book, a graphic novel short story collection.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780593226605
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publication date
December 20, 2021
Series
Zoo Patrol Squad

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!