Miosotis Flores Never Forgets

by Hilda Eunice Burgos (Author)

Miosotis Flores Never Forgets
Reading Level: 4th – 5th Grade

Perfect for fans of Meg Medina and Barbara O'Connor, this heartfelt novel about family, pets, and other things we hold close is one that you'll never forget.

Miosotis Flores is excited about three things: fostering rescue dogs, goofy horror movies, and her sister Amarilis's upcoming wedding. School? Not on that list. But her papi cares about school more than anything else, so they strike a deal: If Miosotis improves her grades in two classes, she can adopt a dog of her own in the summer.

Miosotis dives into her schoolwork, and into nurturing a fearful little pup called Freckles. Could he become her forever dog? At the same time, she notices Amarilis behaving strangely--wearing thick clothes in springtime, dropping her friends in favor of her fiancé, even avoiding Miosotis and the rest of their family.

When she finally discovers her sister's secret, Miosotis faces some difficult choices. What do you do if someone is in danger, but doesn't want your help? When should you ask for support, and when should you try to handle things on your own? And what ultimately matters most--what Miosotis wants, or what's right for the ones she loves?


Find books about:

Kirkus

"A poignant tale of learning how to help those you love."

Review quotes

Praise for Ana María Reyes Does Not Live in a Castle:

An ALA Notable Children's Book
A NPR Best Book of the Year
A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

An engaging, character-driven story ... An authentic representation of an immigrant, middle-class Latinx family who values education, community, and family and stays true to their roots. — School Library Journal, starred review

Burgos's characters have depth, and the community she portrays is complex, warm, and very real. Themes of socio-economic disparities, bilingualism, and straddling of two cultures are brought effortlessly and realistically into the story. Readers will find places in their hearts for this strong and multifaceted character. — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Hilda Eunice Burgos
Hilda Eunice Burgos is the author of the middle grade novel Ana María Reyes Does Not Live in a Castle (Lee&Low). Her parents emigrated from the Dominican Republic before she was born, and she grew up in Washington Heights as one of four sisters. She now lives with her family near Philadelphia, where she works as an environmental lawyer.

Gaby D'Alessandro is a Dominican illustrator based in Brooklyn. She attended Altos de Chavón in the Dominican Republic and moved to New York to complete her degree in Illustration at Parsons School of Design. Her work has appeared in many publications, and her clients include The New York Times, the Library of Congress, the Botanical Garden of Padua, and New York City's MTA.

Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9781643790657
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publication date
October 20, 2021
Series
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!