Bouncing Back

by Scott Ostler (Author)

Bouncing Back
Reading Level: 4th – 5th Grade

Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green, Bouncing Back brings readers onto the wheelchair basketball court in a story brimming with heart, humor, and thrilling sports action.

Back in his old basketball league, Carlos Cooper owned the court, sprinting and jumping and lighting up the scoreboard as opponents (and teammates) watched in awe. Now thirteen-year-old "Cooper the Hooper" is out of his league, new to life in a wheelchair, and struggling to pull his weight with his wheelchair basketball team, the Rollin' Rats.

Just when Carlos starts to get the hang of the game, the city shuts down the Rollin' Rats' gym. Without the gym, the team can't practice, and if they can't practice, they might as well kiss their state tournament dreams goodbye. Carlos will need to fully embrace his new friends, and his new role in the sport he loves, in order to truly become part of the team--and help save their season.


Find books about:

Booklist

Starred Review
The multi-tiered plot moves quickly, the characters are engaging, and the wheelchair basketball is a unique premise, but the real draw in this debut novel from sportswriter Ostler are the vivid descriptions of basketball action. Of equal interest to boys and girls, this strikes just the right notes about teamwork, friendship, and acceptance.

Kirkus Reviews

A sports story that’s as heartwarming as it is action-packed.

Review quotes

 
Scott Ostler
Scott Ostler is a sports columnist forthe San Francisco Chronicle, and previously for the Los Angeles Times. He has been voted California Sportswriter of the Year fourteen times. Ostler has covered major sports all over the world, and his writing has been published in national publications from Sports Illustrated to Parenting. Scott is the author of five nonfiction books for adults; Bouncing Back is his debut novel.
Classification
Fiction
ISBN-13
9780316524742
Lexile Measure
N/A
Guided Reading Level
N/A
Publication date
October 20, 2019
Series
-

Subscribe to our delicious e-newsletter!