Celebrate Picture Book Month 2023

Since 1938, the Caldecott Medal has been awarded every year by the American Library Association to the “artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.” Hot Dog, written and illustrated by Doug Salati, was the Caldecott winner in 2023.

The Caldecott Medal is named for English illustrator Randolph Caldecott (1846-1886). Caldecott is credited with originating the modern picture book by using his colorful illustrations to help tell the story rather than simply reflect the written words. Created by Rene Paul Chambellan in 1937, the bronze medal’s design is based on one of Randolph Caldecott’s illustrations for The Diverting History of John Gilpin. It features the image of a man riding a runaway horse surrounded by geese, dogs and children.

To celebrate Picture Book Month in 2023, enjoy some of these gorgeous nonfiction picture books chosen by John Schu and Colby Sharp for their 2024 Mock Caldecott List (!), illustrated by Carin Berger, Sophie Blackall, Aaron Becker, Lauren Castillo, Cátia Chien, Mathew Cordell, Dare Coulter, Michaela Goade, Vashti Harrison, Claire Keane, Jon Klassen, Jessica Lanan, Grace Lin, Steph Littlebird, Barbara McClintock, Daniel Miyares, Oge Mora, Brian Pinkney, Jerry Pinkney, Jarrett Pumphrey, Jerome Pumphrey, Katherine Roy, and Gracey Zhang.